You are here

LGBTQ

Frequently, Holy Cross lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (LGBT) students face considerations and challenges in a job or internship search related to their sexual orientation. 

Some employers, industries and geographic regions are open and supportive of LGBT employees, while others are not.  The following links and resources provide information about the issues LGBT individuals face in the workplace and connections to employers and industries which are open and supportive.  Of course, every individual and situation is different.  Please meet with any one of us in the Center for Career Development to discuss your own individual career interests and goals. 

 

Company Research & Job Search

Human Rights Campaign HRC www.hrc.org

Workplace Project http://www.hrc.org/topics/workplace

Corporate Equality Index http://www.hrc.org/campaigns/corporate-equality-index

America’s LGBT Chamber of Commerce www.nglcc.org

Out for Work www.outforwork.org

ProGayJobs www.progayjobs.com

Simplyhired www.simplyhired.com/a/special-searches/glbt-friendly

Out and Equal Workplace Advocates http://www.outandequal.org/

LGBT CareerLink www.lgbtcareerlink.com

Diversity Working www.diversityworking.com

Idealist www.idealist.org

 

Networking

LinkedIn www.linkedin.com

Out Professionals www.outprofessionals.org

Professional/Student Associations www.hrc.org/resources/entry/lgbt-professional-and-student-associations

 

Conferences

Out for Undergraduate Business Conference OUBC www.outforbusiness.com

Out for Work annual Conference www.outforwork.org

Reaching Out MBA http://reachingoutmba.org/

 

Education & News

Echelon Magazine  http://www.echelonmagazine.com/index.php

Federal Globe http://www.fedglobe.org/organization/organizationhome.htm

Gay Voices – Huffington Post www.huffingtonpost.com/gay-voices/

LGBT weekly www.lgbtweekly.com

 

Additional Resources

GLAD www.glad.org

Lambda Legal www.lambdalegal.org

National Gay & Lesbian Task Force http://www.thetaskforce.org

The Trevor Project www.thetrevorproject.org

Campus Pride www.campuspride.org

National Center for Transgender Equality www.transequality.org

Pride at Work Action Center http://www.prideatwork.org