Green Fund

Established and directed by students, the Holy Cross Green Fund offers grant funding to projects that positively impact the environment and Holy Cross students.

About the HC Green Fund

The Holy Cross Green Fund aims to establish a more sustainable campus through extensive, visible, and strategic collaboration between students, faculty, administration, and staff. When enacting sustainability policies and programs at Holy Cross, the Green Fund considers the beneficial impact of sustainability in the lives of the members of the Holy Cross community as well as those in the greater Worcester area and the world.

Seeking to increase the value​ ​of educational opportunities and environmental initiatives at the College with hands-on project planning, research opportunities, and volunteer opportunities, the Holy Cross Green Fund will aid in fulfilling the College’s Carbon Commitment and help answer Pope Francis’s call to action as outlined in his 2015 encyclical, ​Laudato Si. ​In essence, the Holy Cross Green Fund, founded on Jesuit values, fosters collaboration and unity within the Holy Cross and Worcester community in pursuit of a more sustainable world.

Read the Green Fund Charter

Applying for Funding

The Review Board will accept applications for the Fall 2021 cycle on MyHC. The submission deadline is November 13.

View the project application | View the progress report | View the completion report

Green Fund Review Board

The Green Fund Review Board is composed of student, staff and faculty members from throughout the College, who oversee the Green Fund, including the application process and the Fund's campus visibility.

Email the Green Fund Review Board

McKenna Best '23, student manager

Samantha Espinosa '23, transparency and visibility intern

VACANT, student-at-large

Maggie Hannick '23, Student Government Association cabinet representative

Hannah Cavanaugh-Gouvea '24, treasurer

Sophia Fiordalice '24, Student Government Association senate representative

Christi Lucia, department of facilities representative

Ellis Jones, co-faculty manager

Daina Harvey, co-faculty manager

Sandy Burke, administrative representative

Cathy Liebowitz, non-voting office of sustainability representative