The Judicial Branch

"The function of the Judicial Branch is to serve as the official interpreters of the SGA Constitution and its Bylaws."  -SGA Constitution

The Judicial Council is the sole body of the Judicial Branch of the Student Government Association. It consists of seven unbiased members appointed by the Co-Presidents and approved by a majority vote of the Senate. Three members hold one-year terms, and four members hold alternating two-year terms. The Council is presided over by a Chair who is also nominated by the Co-Presidents and approved by the Senate. 

The Judicial Council seeks to maintain the integrity of the SGA Constitution and its Bylaws by investigating, addressing, and hearing all petitions and appeals arising from possible violations of the Constitution and its Bylaws. The Judicial Council supervises and coordinates all election activities of the SGA, hears complaints which may result in the removal of elected or appointed SGA officials, and hears student appeals of parking violations issued by the Department of Public Safety.