Faculty Awards

The College recognizes exemplary scholarship, teaching and advising with the following awards:

Mary Louise Marfuggi Faculty Award for Outstanding Scholarship

This annual award was established to honor a member of the faculty for outstanding achievement in the creation of original work in the arts and sciences over an 18-month period, including books and other major research publications, major musical compositions, major works of art, and major presentations of scholarly or creative work. The award is made possible by a generous gift from Richard A. Marfuggi, M.D., ’72, in honor of his mother.

Name Department  Awarded
Paige Reynolds English 2021
Florencia Anggoro Psychology 2020
Juan Ramos Spanish 2019
Lorelle Semley History 2018
Charles Anderton Economics and Accounting 2017
Leon Claessens Biology 2016
Ann Marie Leshkowich Sociology & Anthropology 2015
Denise Schaeffer Political Science 2014
Kenneth Mills Chemistry   2013
Cristina Ballantine   Math and Computer Science 2012
Robert Bellin Biology   2011
Randy Ross Physics   2010
Thomas Cecil Math and Computer Science 2009
Richard Herrick   Chemistry 2008
Jessica Waldoff   Music 2007
Thomas Worcester History 2006
Jane Van Doren Chemistry 2005  
Susan Rodgers   Sociology and Anthropology   2004

Mary Louise Marfuggi Award for Academic Advisement

This annual award honors faculty who have demonstrated effective academic advisement and mentorship of students that was extraordinary in quality and sustained over at least three years, based on student nominations. The award is made possible by a generous gift from Richard A. Marfuggi, M.D., ’72, in honor of his mother.

Name Department Awarded
Kendy Hess Philosophy 2021
Debra Gettelman English 2020
Andrew Hwang Mathematics and Computer Science 2019
Neel Smith Classics 2018
David Damiano Mathematics and Computer Science 2017
Helen Freear-Papio Spanish 2016
Andrew Futterman Psychology 2015
Robert Bellin Biology 2014
Alice Laffey Religious Studies 2013
Ellen Perry Classics   2012
Stephanie Yuhl History 2011
Loren Cass Political Science 2010
Victoria Swigert Sociology and Anthropology 2009

Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award

This award is presented to a faculty member with an exceptionally distinguished record of scholarly achievement throughout their career.

Name Department Awarded
Victor Matheson Economics and Accounting 2020
Susan Elizabeth Sweeney English 2019
Mark Freeman Psychology 2016

Donal J. Burns '49 Career Teaching Medal

This annual award, endowed through a generous gift from distinguished alumnus Donal J. Burns ’49, was established in recognition of the generations of outstanding faculty members who have devoted their lifetimes to the teaching of students at Holy Cross. The recipient is selected on the basis of nominations from individuals and groups on campus. The honor, which was previously called the Distinguished Teaching Award, exemplifies the College’s commitment to teaching excellence in the education of undergraduates.

Name Department Awarded
Susan Schmidt Visual Arts 2020-2021
Kolleen Rask Economics and Accounting 2019-2020
Claudia Ross Chinese Studies (World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures) 2018-2019
Danuta Bukatko Psychology 2017-2018
Stephanie Yuhl History 2016-2017

Distinguished Teaching Award

This annual award honors the teaching record of a faculty member who has served the College as an outstanding full-time teacher for an extended period and exemplifies the high standard of teaching excellence of which the Holy Cross community is justly proud.                     

Name Department Awarded
Loren Cass   Political Science 2015-2016
Janine Shertzer   Physics    2014-2015
Maurice Geracht English    2013-2014
Edward Isser  Theatre   2012-2013
Theresa McBride History 2011-2012 
David Damiano  Mathematics and Computer Science   2010-2011
Judith Chubb  Political Science 2009-2010
Blaise Nagy  Classics 2008-2009
Noel Cary History 2007-2008
James Kee English 2006-2007
Edward Thompson Jr. Sociology and Anthropology 2005-2006
George Hoffmann   Biology  2004-2005
John Little III  Mathematics and Computer Science 2002-2003
Anthony Kuzniewski, S.J.   History  2001-2002
Frederick Murphy Religious Studies 2000-2001
William Green  History  1999-2000
Thomas Lawler   English 1998-1999
Helen Whall  English   1997-1998
Margaret Freije  Mathematics and Computer Science   1996-1997
Ronald Jarret   Chemistry 1995-1996
Robert Cording  English 1994-1995
Joanna Ziegler Visual Arts 1993-1994
John Carter  Economics 1992-1993
Kenneth Prestwich Biology 1991-1992  
Clyde Pax Philosophy 1990-1991
Edward Callahan English 1989-1990