You are here

Holy Cross Chapter

The Holy Cross chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Pi of Massachusetts, was established in 1974 with the following professors as Charter Members:

  Joyce E. Brown
  Daniel G. Dewey
  William A. Green, Jr.
  Roy C. Gunter, Jr.
  Lorraine C. Leonowich
  Werner Loewy
  John T. Mayer     
  Barbara P. McCarthy
  Ogretta McNeil
  Robert E. Melia
  Lenore R. O'Boyle
  Dennis H. Ormseth
  Peter Perkins
  James F. Powers
  Preston Roberts
  Emese Soos
  Melvin C. Tews
  George A. Vidulich
  Joan D. Winslow
  William J. Ziobro.

Each year, qualified candidates within the top 8% of the senior class and the top 2% of the junior class are invited to join Phi Beta Kappa.  In the past 41 years, a total of 1,852 members have been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at Holy Cross.  Currently, the Holy Cross Chapter has approximately 60 resident members among the faculty, staff, and students (seniors inducted in their junipor year).