Faculty & Staff

Contemporary Challenges

Joshua Boucher

boucher

Visiting Instructor, Political Science
Ph.D. (expected 12/18) Baylor University
Fields: American Foreign Policy, International Relations, American Political Thought
Email: jboucher@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 321   P.O. Box: 49A   Phone: 508-793-2744 

 

 

 

Lauren Capotosto

Capotosto

Assistant Professor and Joseph H. Maguire '58 Fellow in Education
Ed. D., Harvard Graduate School of Education
Fields: literacy development and instruction across the lifespan, home-school engagement, research methods in education
Email: lcapotos@holycross.edu  
Office: Stein 437 PO Box: EDUC Phone: 508-793-3755
Additional Information »

 

 

Jennie Germann Molz

Germann Molz

Professor
Ph.D., Lancaster University
Fields: mobilities, cosmopolitanism, globalization, technology, travel and tourism, educational travel, critical hospitality studies
Emailjmolz@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 215 Phone: (508) 793-3596
Additional Information »

 

 

Vickie Langohr

Langohr

Montserrat Cluster Director, Contemporary Challenges

Associate Professor, Political Science
Ph.D. Columbia University
Fields: Middle East politics, nationalism and democratization; religion and politics
Email: vlangohr@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 326 PO Box: 167A Phone: 508-793-2763
Additional Information »

 

 

Danielle Poché

Visiting Instructor
Ed.D., University of Portland
Email:  dpoche@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 432   Phone: 508-793-3731

 

 

Eric Ruggieri

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., Brown University, Sc. M., Brown University, B.A., Providence College
Fields: Statistics
Email:eruggier@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 325 Phone: (508) 793-2400
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Sanjog Rupakheti

rupakheti

Assistant Professor, History
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Email: srupakhe@holycross.edu 
Office: O’Kane 391   PO Box: 165 A   Phone: 508-793- 3496
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Ann M. Sheehy Ph.D.

sheehy

Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Fields: Immunology and Virology
Email: asheehy@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 235 Phone: (508) 793-2255
Additional Information »

 

Core Human Questions

Nancy E. Andrews

andrews

Associate Professor, Classics
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Hellenistic poetry, Greek and Roman epic poetry, Greek and Roman mythology
Email:nandrews@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 424   Phone:  508-793-2549 
Additional Information »

 

 

Greg Chase

Chase

Visiting Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., Boston University)
Fields: American and British Modernism; Philosophy and Literature; African American Literature; Southern Literature
Email: gchase@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 222
Phone: 508-793-2658
Additional Information »

 

 

Pedrag Cicovacki

cicovacki

Montserrat Cluster Director, Core Human Questions
Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Rochester
Fields: Kant, Dostoevsky, Schweitzer, Gandhi; Problems of evil and violence; Theories of Values
Email: pcicovac@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 518 Phone: (508) 793 2467
Additional Information »

 

 

Matthew Farley

Profile Image Name

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Email: mfarley@holycross.edu
Office: Smith Hall 429   Phone: 508-793-3979

 

 

 

 

Shawn Lisa Maurer

Maurer

Professor
(Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Fields: 18th Century British literature and Culture; History and Theory of the Novel; Satire; Feminist and Critical Theory; Women's and Gender Studies; Women Writers; Female Modernism, esp. Dorothy Richardson; 19th and 20th Century Anglo-American Women's Poetry
Email: smaurer@holycross.edu 
Office:
 Fenwick 229   Phone: 508-793-3444
Additional Information »

 

Divine

Peter J. Fritz

fritz

Divine Cluster Director, Montserrat
Edward Bennett Williams Fellow, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
FieldsCatholic systematic theology (especially the theology of Karl Rahner, SJ), modern Christian history, theological aesthetics, theology and visual art, critical responses to neoliberal capitalism
Email: pfritz@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 434 Phone: 508-793-3501
Additional Information »

 

 

Frances Maughan-Brown

 maughan-brown

Lecturer, Montserrat Program
Visiting Assistant Professor, Philosophy

Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Aesthetics, 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Kierkegaard, Feminism
Email: fmaughan@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 519    Phone: (508) 793 3453
Additional Information»

 

 

 

William A. Clark, S.J.

clark

Associate Professor, Religious Studies
S.T.D., Weston Jesuit School of Theolog
Fields: ecclesiology (authority in the Church, Theology of parish, local community); practical and contextual theology; Christian prayer
Email: wclark@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 433 Phone: 508-793-2717
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Karen V. Guth

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: Christian social ethics, public and political theologies, feminist ethics and theologies
Emailkguth@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 430 Phone: 508-793-3359
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Hayley Stefan

Stefan

Visiting Assistant Professor
Fields:
Multi-ethnic Literature of the United States; Disability/Mad Studies; Digital Humanities
Email:  hstefan@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 225
Office hours:  Mon & Wed 3:30 – 5:00PM; Tue 10 – 11AM, and by appt.
Phone: 793-3331

 

 

Virginia Ryan

ryan

Lecturer, Montserrat Program and Religious Studies
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic Theological Ethics, Christian Social Ethics, Bioethics, Environmental Ethics
Email: vryan@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 454  Phone: (508)-793-3467
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Global Society

Bridget Franco

franco

Montserrat Cluster Director, Global Society  
Associate Professor, Spanish
Ph.D. University of California - Irvine
Fields: Contemporary Latin American Literature; 20th- & 21st-Century Southern Cone Literature and Film; Philosophy and Politics in Literature
Email: bfranco@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 412 Phone: (508) 793-2291
Additional Information »

 

 

Ellen Lokos

lokos

Lecturer, Montserrat Program and Spanish
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Golden Age Spanish Literature; Women's Writing; Literature & Performance 
Email: elokos@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 441

 

 

 

 

Edward T. O'Donnell

o'donnell

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Nineteenth-century U.S. urban; ethnic; and political history; Irish American experience; Public history
Email: eodonnell@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 361 Phone: (508) 793-3730
Additional Information »

 

 

Victor Pacheco

pacheco

Visiting Lecturer, Visual Arts
MFA Rhode Island School of Design
Fields: Sculpture, Visual Arts
Email: vpacheco@holycross.edu  
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Jorge Santos

Santos

Associate Professor
(Ph.D., University of Connecticut)
Fields: Ethnic American Literature; Immigrant/Migrant Literature; Ethnic Studies; American Cultural Studies; Graphic Narrative; Asian American Literature
Email: jsantos@holycross.edu  
Office:  Fenwick 225   Phone: 508-793-3460
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Noa Shaindlinger

Visiting Assistant Professor, History
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Email: nshaindl@holycross.edu  Phone: 508-793-3966
Office: O'Kane 358
 

 

 

 

Natural World

Rodrigo Fuentes

Assistant Professor, Spanish
Ph.D. Cornell University
Fields: Prose Fiction in Spanish; Narrative and Visual Arts; Central American Testimonial Literature
Email: rfuente@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 410  
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Madigan Haley

Haley

Assistant Professor,  English
(Ph.D. University of Virginia)
Fields: 20th- and 21st-Century British Literature; Comparative World Literatures; Transnational Modernism; History and Theory of the Novel; Postcolonial and Global Studies
Email: mhaley@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 223   Phone: 508-793-2523
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Kendy Hess

hess

Brake-Smith Associate Professor in Social Philosophy and Ethics, Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Colorado-Boulder
Fields: Ethics; applied ethics (business, professional, and environmental); environmental philosophy; philosophy of the mind; Nietzsche
Email:khess@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 523 Phone: (508) 793 2574
Additional Information »

 

 

Jeannette Jones

jeannette jones

Visiting Assistant Professor, Music
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields:  History, Renaissance, Disability Studies, popular music
Email jdjones@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 243 Phone: (508) 793-2699
Additional Information»

 

 

Julia Paxon

paxon

Montserrat Cluster Director, Natural World
Associate Professor, Biology

Ph.D., Yale University, D.V.M. Tufts University Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Fields: Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Email: jpaxson@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 335 Phone: (508) 793-3418
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Sylvia Schmitz-Burgard

burgard

Associate Professor, Program Coordinator German
Ph.D. University of Virginia
Fields: 20th-, 19th-, and 18th-Century German Literature and Culture, Austrian Cultural History, 18th-Century European Novel, Women Writers, Law and Literature, Contemporary Literary Theory
Email: sschmitz@holycross.edu  
Office:  Stein 461   Phone:  508-793-3305
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Christopher Staysniak

staysniak

Lecturer, Montserrat Program 
Visiting Assistant Professor, History
Ph.D., Boston College
Email:cstaysni@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Self

Renee Beard

Beard

Associate Professor, Sociology and Anthropology
Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Fields: medical sociology, social gerontology, illness narratives, Alzheimer's, social movements
Emailrbeard@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 218  Phone: (508) 793-3054
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Morris Collins
collins

Lecturer, Montserrat Program and English
MFA
The Pennsylvania State University
Email: mcollins@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 218  Phone:  508-793-2333
Additional Information»

 

 

Helen Freear-Papio

Director of the Foreign Language Assistants Program
Senior Lecturer

Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Fields: Contemporary Spanish Drama written by Women; 20th Century Drama and Novel; Directed Independent Language Instruction; Technology in the Language Classroom
Email: hfreear@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 458  Phone: (508) 793-2765
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Matthew Gamber

matthew gamber

Associate Professor
M.F.A., Tufts University
Fields: Photography
Email: mgamber@holycross.edu  
Office:  
Fenwick 402   Phone:  508-793-3845
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Neal E. Lipsitz

lipsitz

Lecturer, Psychology
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Counseling
Email:nlipsitz@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth O'Connell-Inman

Director of the Directed Independent Spanish and Pedagogical Coordinator
Senior Lecturer

M.A. Brown University
Fields: Technology in the Language Classroom; Directed Independent Language Instruction; Contemporary Latin American Literature
Email: einman@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 312 Phone: (508) 793-3412
Additional Information »

 

 

Justin D. Poché

poche

Montserrat Cluster Director, Self
Associate Professor, History
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: Catholicism in the U. S. United States History, 1865-Present; American Religious History;
Latin American History; U.S. Latino/a History
Email: jpoche@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 390Phone: (508) 793-3448
Additional Information »

 

 

Megan Ross

Visiting Assistant Professor, Music
Ph.D., The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fields: Critical Reception Theory, Beethoven Studies, Hip-Hop
Email: mross@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

Karen Teitel

Teitel

Associate Professor
Program Coordinator, Accounting Program

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Fields: Financial Reporting
Email: kteitel@holycross.edu  
Office: Stein 537    Phone:  508-793-2679
Additional Information »