You are here

Instrumental and Vocal Lessons

jan and a student at a piano looking at sheet music while jan holds his cello

The Department of Music offers all students (from beginning to advanced) the opportunity to take private lessons in either instrumental or vocal performance. 

Students work one-on-one with exceptional instructors drawn from across New England and have access to small group tutorials, performance forums, workshops, and master classes. Students may choose either 10 half-hour or one-hour lessons per semester. 

Lessons for Credit

For music majors and non-majors who qualify, lessons may be taken for lab credit (pass/no pass) for up to two years to fulfill the individual lesson requirement of the major. Ten (10) 60-minute lessons cost $650 per semester; ten (10) 30-minute lessons are $325 per semester.  Music majors and prospective music majors receive lessons free of charge.
  • Music 105-108 Beginning/Intermediate Individual Instruction 
  • Music 205-208 Intermediate Individual Instruction 

Guidelines for Instrumental and Vocal Instruction »

Performance for Credit

With the goal to deepen the level of engagement in individual instruction, with greater focus on all aspects of their development in performance, qualified students may take performance for (full) credit. Ten (10) 60-minute lessons cost $650 per semester; ten (10) 30-minute lessons are $325 per semester.  Music majors and prospective music majors receive lessons free of charge.
  • Music 331, 332 Intermediate Performance
  • Music 431, 432 Intermediate/Advanced Performance 
  • Music 433, 434 Advanced Performance 
 


Performance Instructors

Instrument

Faculty Member

Email

Bassoon

Stephanie Busby

stephaniebusby@gmail.com

Cello

Jan Muller-Szeraws

jmuller@holycross.edu

Clarinet

William Kirkley

wkirkley@holycross.edu

Flute Ona Jonaytite ojonaity@holycross.edu

Guitar

Jeffrey Nevaras

jnevaras@holycross.edu

Piano

Adam Golka

agolka@holycross.edu

Piano

Jonathan Yasuda

jyasuda@holycross.edu

Piano Sophie Scolnick-Brower sccolnik@holycross.edu

Oboe

Joe Halko

joeoboe.halko@gmail.com

Trombone

Douglas Weeks

dweeks@wpi.edu

Trumpet

Bruce Hopkins

bhopkins@holycross.edu

Violin/Viola

Peter Sulski

psulski@holycross.edu

Violin

Sarah Kim

skim@holycross.edu

Viola Evan Perry eeperry@holycross.edu

Voice

Marsha Vleck

mrvleck@aol.com

Voice

Bill Cotton

wcotten@holycross.edu

Percussion/Drums

Jonathan Hess

jhess@holycross.edu