Recreation and Wellness Center

The Joanne Chouinard-Luth Recreation and Wellness Center serves the wellness goals of the Holy Cross community. 

This building, which opened in 2021, became a reality through the extraordinary generosity of John Luth ’74 and Joanne Chouinard-Luth, D.M.D.

The Jo, as it is colloquially known, contains sports courts, jogging track, weight rooms, locker rooms; and rooms for yoga, spinning, and other fitness classes. The center is home to all club and intramural sports, as well as recreation, fitness, and wellness programming for students, faculty, and staff.

The building also houses the Office of Student Wellness EducationOffice of Worksite Wellness, and Office of Public Safety, essential partners in providing for our community's well-being.

The recreation and wellness center features:

  • Gymnasium courts featuring basketball, volleyball and badminton courts
  • Multiple exercise studios
  • Weight training rooms
  • New shower and locker space
  • Centers for a wide assortment of health, wellness, and fitness programming

Accessing and Using the Jo 

The Jo will be open for students, faculty, and staff when the College is in a yellow or green alert level.

Learn more about accessing and using The Jo » 

Hours and Operations 

Recreational operational hours for the are as follows. Reservations are no longer required other than for fitness classes.

Academic Year

  • Monday - Friday: 7 a.m.-10 p.m.
  • Saturday - Sunday: 9 a.m.-9 p.m.
  • May hours have been adjusted due to spring weekend, study days, final exams, senior week, and commencement. Adjustments are as follows
    • Through Thu 5/5 | Regular Hours | Weekdays 7:00AM - 10:00PM | Weekends 9:00AM - 9:00M
    • Fri 5/6 | Spring Concert | 7:00AM - 4:00PM
    • Sat 5/7 & Sun 5/8 | Spring Weekend | 11:30AM - 5:30PM
    • Mon 5/9 - Wed 5/18 | Study Period & Final Exams | Weekdays 7:00AM - 7:00PM | Weekends 11:30AM - 5:30PM
    • Thu 5/19 - Wed 5/25 | Prior to Commencement | Weekdays 7:00AM - 5:30PM | Weekends 11:30AM - 5:30PM
    • Thu 5/26 - Mon 5/30 | Commencement & Memorial Day Weekend | CLOSED

Winter Break

  • Monday, Jan 3 - Friday, Jan 14 - Loyola Fitness Center: open Monday - Friday, 7 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Jan 17 - Friday, Jan 21 - The Jo: open Monday - Friday, 7 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Jan 24 - Academic year hours resume at The Jo

Summer

  • Tuesday, May 31 - Friday, Aug 26
    • Monday-Thursday 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
    • Friday 7 a.m.-3 p.m.
    • Weekends CLOSED

Holidays and Breaks

Please note, hours will be adjusted during holiday and break periods as follows.

  • Loyola Closed - Monday, Sept. 6
  • The Jo & Loyola Early Closure 6:00pm - Friday, Oct. 8
  • The Jo & Loyola Closed - Saturday, Oct. 9 - Sunday, Oct. 17
  • Loyola Closed - Thursday, Nov. 11
  • The Jo & Loyola Early Closure 6:00pm - Tuesday, Nov. 23
  • The Jo & Loyola Closed - Wednesday, Nov. 24 - Sunday, Nov. 28
  • Loyola Closed - Monday, Dec. 13 - Friday, Dec. 17 (The Jo open 7 a.m.-7 p.m.)
  • The Jo Early Closures 7:00pm - Monday, Dec. 13 - Friday, Dec. 17
  • Loyola Closed - Saturday, Dec. 18 - Sunday, Jan. 2
  • The Jo Closed - Saturday, Dec. 18 - Sunday, Jan. 16
  • Winter Break - See above section for Winter Break Hours
  • Loyola Closed - Monday, Feb. 21
  • The Jo & Loyola Early Closure 6:00pm - Friday, Mar. 4
  • Spring Break
    • The Jo: Open 7:00am-5:30pm Monday, Mar. 7 - Friday, Mar 11.  Closed Saturday & Sunday
    • Loyola: Closed Saturday, Mar. 5 - Sunday, Mar. 13
  • Easter Break
    • The Jo:
      • Open 7:00am-5:30pm Thursday, Apr. 14
      • Closed Friday Apr. 15 - Sunday, Apr 17
      • Open 7:00am-5:30pm Monday, Apr. 18
    • Loyola: Closed 6:00pm Wednesday, Apr. 13 - Monday Apr. 18

Learn more about The Jo's operations and policies. 

Locker Rooms & Lockers

Locker rooms are available for changing. Showers are available (at The Jo). Day lockers and cubbies are available to store belongings while working out. Please remove all of your belongings at the completion of your workout. 

Faculty and staff members who are interested in reserving a locker for the semester can submit a request through the locker request form.

Inside The Jo