You are here

Faculty & Staff

Kenneth V. Mills

Professor, Chair of Sociology and Anthropology
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Biochemistry
Email: kmills@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 337 Phone: (508) 793-3380
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Renée L. Beard

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Fields: medical sociology, social gerontology, illness narratives, Alzheimer's, social movements
Emailrbeard@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 218  Phone: (508) 793-3054
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Emily B. Campbell

Visiting Lecturer
Doctoral Candidate, CUNY Graduate Center
Fields: political sociology; race and ethnicity; the sociology of human rights; drugs and society; transnational sociology, especially Latin America and Europe
Emailecampbel@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 221 Phone: (508)793-3753
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

Stephanie Crist

Lecturer, Montserrat Program and Sociology and Anthropology
Ph.D., Syracuse University
Fields: inequality, hunger, food justice, food studies, nonprofit organizations, research methods, gender and sexuality
Email:scrist@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 206 Phone: (508) 793-3597
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Susan M. Cunningham

Lecturer, Associate Director Center for Interdisciplinary
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Fields: sociology, children and violence, women and drinking
Email:scunning@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 331 Phone: (508) 793-2703
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

 

Darcie DeAngelo

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. McGill University
Fields: visual anthropology, medical anthropology, human-nonhuman relations, disarmament, Southeast Asia, semiotics, science and technology studies, and postwar ecologies
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Jeffrey C. Dixon

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Fields: political sociology, race and ethnicity, research methods, the EU and Turkey, and social stratification
Emailjdixon@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 224 Phone: (508) 793-3474
Additional Information »

 

 

Ara A. Francis

Associate Professor
Director Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Studies

Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Fields: micro sociology; deviance and social disruption; death and dying; families; qualitative methods
Emailafrancis@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 211 Phone: (508) 793-2487
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Selina Gallo-Cruz

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Emory University
Fields: culture; gender; global change; social movements; NGOs; nonviolence; methods; social theory
Email:sgallo@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 223 Phone: (508) 793-3468
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Jennie Germann Molz

Associate Professor
(On Leave Spring 2019)

Ph.D., Lancaster University
Fields: mobilities, cosmopolitanism, globalization, technology, travel and tourism, educational travel, critical hospitality studies
Emailjmolz@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 215 Phone: (508) 793-3596
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Daina Cheyenne Harvey

On Leave 2018 - 2019

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers
Fields: risk; social disruption/dislocation; climate; social suffering; urban inequality and marginality; environmental sociology; culture and cognition; food; symbolic interaction
Emaildharvey@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 231 Phone: 609-865-0651
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Alvaro Jarrin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Duke University
Fields: medical anthropology; science and technology studies; race, class and gender inequality in Latin America; queer theory; social justice; environmental activism
Email:ajarrin@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 216 Phone: (508) 793-2774
Additional Information »

 

 

Ellis Jones

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado
Fields: corporate social responsibility, mass media, social movements, sustainability, peace and conflict, ethical consumerism
Email: ejones@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 219 Phone: (508) 793-3478
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Jeremy Jones

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: political and economic anthropology; African studies; informal economy and the anthropology of development; youth and masculinity; time and temporality.
Email:jjones@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 203 Phone: (508) 793-3050
Additional Information »

 

 

Thomas M. Landy

Lecturer
Director for the Center for Religion, Ethics and Culture
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields: Global Catholicism, civil society, and urban sociology
Email: tlandy@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 304 Phone: (508) 793-3723
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Ann Marie Leshkowich

Professor
Director, Asian Studies

Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: social anthropology, gender, economic transformation, neoliberalism, middle classness, fashion, social work, and transnational adoption in Vietnam
Emailaleshkow@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 230 Phone: (508) 793-2788
Additional Information »

 

 

Tsitsi Masvawure

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Pretoria, South Africa
Email:tmasvawu@holycross.edu 

 

 

 

Susan Crawford Sullivan

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: religion, poverty and public policy, family,community-based learning, and Catholic social teaching
Email:ssulliva@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 225 Phone: (508) 793-2531
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Melissa F. Weiner

On Leave 2018 - 2019

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Fields: race and ethnicity, education, social movements, social justice
Email:mfweiner@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 226 Phone: (508) 793-2217
Additional Information »

 

 

Staff

Paula Hall


Administrative Assistant
Email: phall@holycross.edu
Office: Beaven 220    Phone: 508-793-2288

 

 

 

Professors Emeriti

 

David M. Hummon

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Email:dhummon@holycross.edu 

 
 
 
 

Jerry L. Lembcke

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Email:jlembcke@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

 

 

Susan Rodgers

Professor Emerita, Anthropology
Distinguished Professor Emerita, Ethics 
and Society, Holy Cross
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: anthropology of literature, print literacies, anthropology of art and museums, Indonesia, Sumatra  
Email:srodgers@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 
 
 
 
 

Royce A. Singleton JR.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Indiana University
Email:rsinglet@holycross.edu 
Phone: (508) 829-6546
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Edward H. Thompson Jr.


Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Email: ethompson@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »