Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society

Theta Alpha Kappa is the national honor society for religious studies and theology, a member society in the Association of College Honor Societies, a Related Scholarly Organization of the American Academy of Religion, and an Affiliated Society of the Council of Societies for the Study of Religion. Theta Alpha Kappa seeks to further the study of religion and theology by honoring outstanding graduate and undergraduate students, publishing a quarterly journal, and providing various forums for scholarly discussion.

The Department of Religious Studies is pleased to sponsor a chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa at Holy Cross, the Alpha Delta Tau Chapter is the national honor society for religious studies and theology. Each spring, religious studies majors of outstanding academic achievement are invited to join, provided they meet the following criteria:

  1. At least three semester at Holy Cross and a minimum of three religious studies courses have been completed 
  2. A grade point average of 3.5 or above in the major and an average of 3.0 overall has been maintained 
  3. The overall grade point average achieved fall in the upper 35 percent of the student’s class

In addition to honoring students through society of membership, Theta Alpha Kappa sponsors the Albert Clark Award, a prize given annually to the best essay in religious studies or theology, as judged by a panel of leading scholars. All Holy Cross students are eligible to submit papers for this prize. For further information, visit the Theta Alpha Kappa website or contact Katherine Barrett, the administrative assistant of the Department of Religious Studies.

The Rev. William F. Hartigan Medal

The Hartigan Medal is awarded each year to a graduating senior for the best essay on a subject in religion. The Department of Religious Studies encourages students who write an outstanding essay or paper for a course in the religious studies department, or even for another department (provided the subject of the paper concerns religion), to submit a copy of that paper for consideration for this award. Students may also write a paper specifically for this competition.

Submissions are due to the department in the spring semester and the winning paper is announced prior to the end of the semester.

The Dr. Vincent J. Forde Memorial Award

The Forde Memorial Award in Religious Studies is granted annually to the graduating religious studies major who, in the view of the faculty of the Department of Religious Studies, best exemplifies the values of Vincent J. Forde, a former professor in the department, whose dedication to the academic study of religion alongside a consistent commitment to both the Catholic and civic communities are represented in the student’s service to the College, Church, and broader community.

The award carries a cash prize of $200 and a certificate. 

Marketing Your Religious Studies Major/Minor

Are you studying Religious Studies, but aren't quite sure how to talk about your major or minor in a professional setting, like an interview?  Join us via zoom to discuss ways to articulate your experience in the department, and how to talk about skills gained.

Event Date and Time- Tuesday 3/15 6PM Virtual - Please register in Handshake