You are here

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Mary M. Doyle Roche

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic moral theology and social teaching, Christian ethics, virtue ethics, bioethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mroche@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 428 Phone: 508-793-2585
Additional Information »

 

 

Alan J. Avery Peck

Profile Image Name

Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies  
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Judaic studies, history and literature of early Rabbinic Judaism, Hebrew language
Email: aavery@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 405 Phone: 508-793-3411
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Bernadette J. Brooten

clark

Lecturer, Kraft-Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies at Brandeis University
Ph.D., Harvard University
 

 

 

 

 

William A. Clark, S.J.

clark

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Weston Jesuit School of Theolog
Fields: ecclesiology (authority in the Church, Theology of parish, local community); practical and contextual theology; Christian prayer
Email: wclark@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 433 Phone: 508-793-2717
Additional Information »

 

 

Caner K. Dagli

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Islamic studies
Email: cdagli@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 435 Phone: 508-793-2384
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Gary P. DeAngelis

Profile Image Name

Lecturer, Associate Director of Special Studies 
Ph.D., Boston University/Harvard University
Fields: Asian religions, mysticism, Chinese religions, Japanese religions
Email: gdeangel@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 326 Phone: 508-793-2498
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Matthew T. Eggemeier

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: modern and contemporary Christian theologies; political and liberation theologies; postmodern theology
Emailmeggemei@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 204 Phone: 508-793-3948
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Matthew D. Farley

Profile Image Name

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Email: mfarley@holycross.edu
Office: Smith Hall 429   Phone: 508-793-3979

 

 

 

 

Peter Fay

Profile Image Name

Visiting Lecturer
Ph.D., Cand., Boston College
Email: pfay@holycross.edu
Office: TBD    Phone: TBD

 

 

 

 

Peter J. Fritz

fritz

Edward Bennett Williams Fellow, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
FieldsCatholic systematic theology (especially the theology of Karl Rahner, SJ), modern Christian history, theological aesthetics, theology and visual art, critical responses to neoliberal capitalism
Email: pfritz@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 434 Phone: 508-793-3501
Additional Information »

 

 

John F. Gavin, S.J.

gavin

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, Rome, Italy
Fields: Catholic theology, patristics
Email: jgavin@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 421    Phone: 508-793-3446
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Karen V. Guth

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: Christian social ethics, public and political theologies, feminist ethics and theologies
Emailkguth@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 430 Phone: 508-793-3359
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Caroline E. Johnson Hodge

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: New Testament, Paul, women in early Christianity, kinship and ethnicity, domestic religious practices 
Email: chodge@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 429 Phone: 508-793-3405
Additional Information »

 

 

Mahri Leonard-Fleckman

Profile Image Name

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., New York University
Fields: Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Email: mleonard@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 431 Phone: 508-793-3435
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Travis LaCouter

Profile Image Name

Visiting Lecturer
DPhil Oxford University
Email: tlacoute@holycross.edu
Office: TBD  Phone: TBD

 

 

 

 

Todd Lewis

Profile Image Name

Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions, anthropology of religions, modernization, ecology and religion 
Emailtlewis@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 425     Phone:   508-793-3436
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Tat siong Benny Liew

Profile Image Name

Class of 1956 Professor in New Testament Studies
Ph.D., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: synoptic gospels, gospel of John, cultural and racial interpretations and receptions of the Bible, apocalypticism, Asian American history and literature
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Joanne M. Pierce

Profile Image Name

Professor
On Leave 2020-2021

Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: liturgical studies, medieval Christianity, ritual studies, ecumenical theology, theology and speculative/science fiction 
Email: jpierce@holycross.edu  
Office:  Smith 423     Phone: 508-793-3452
Additional Information »

 

  


William E. Reiser, S.J.

reiser

Professor
On Leave 2020-2021

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: New Testament Theology, Christology, Christian Spirituality, Systematic Theology
Email: wreiser@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 401 Phone: 508-793-3412
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Virginia Ryan

Profile Image Name

Lecturer
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: 
Catholic Theological Ethics, Christian Social Ethics, Bioethics, Environmental Ethics
Emailvryan@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 454     Phone: 508-793-3467
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Mathew N. Schmalz

Profile Image Name

Professor 
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: global Catholicisms, Hinduism, Catholic esotericism, modern religious movements 
Emailmschmalz@holycross.edu  
Office:  Smith 404      Phone: 508-793-2557
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Michael Stahl

Profile Image Name

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., New York University
Email: mstahl@holycross.edu
Office:TBD   Phone: TBD
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

 

Staff

Charlene Dacey

Profile Image Name

Academic Administrative Assistant
Emailcdacey@holycross.edu 
Office:  Swords 338     Phone:  (508) 793-3374

 

 

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

Mary E. Hobgood

hobgood

Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Temple University
Fields: Christian social ethics, Catholic social teaching, economic ethics, feminist ethics 
Emailmhobgood@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Alice L. Laffey

laffey

Associate Professor Emerita
S.S.D., Pontifical Biblical Institute of Rome
Fields: Hebrew scriptures/ Old Testament, feminist Hermeneutics, ecology and the Bible 
Emailalaffey@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

James B. Nickoloff

nickoloff

Associate Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Theological Union, Berkeley, CA
Fields: Theology of Liberation
Emailjnickolo@holycross.edu