Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Caroline E. Johnson Hodge

 

close up of a faculty member with a bookcase behind her, she is smiling at the camera

Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: New Testament, Paul, women in early Christianity, kinship and ethnicity, domestic religious practices 
Email: chodge@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 429 Phone: 508-793-3405
Additional Information »

 

Aidan Kwame Ahaligah

Aidan Kwame Ahaligah

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,  Institution University of Leeds, UK
Fields: World Christianity (History and Theology), African Christianities and Religions (ancient and contemporary) 
Emailaahaliga@holycross.edu

 

 

Alan J. Avery Peck

Profile Image Name

Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies  
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Judaic studies, history and literature of early Rabbinic Judaism, Hebrew language
Email: aavery@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 405 Phone: 508-793-3411
Additional Information »

 

 

Bernadette J. Brooten

clark

Lecturer, Kraft-Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies at Brandeis University
Ph.D., Harvard University
 

 

 

 

William A. Clark, S.J.

clark

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Weston Jesuit School of Theolog
Fields: ecclesiology (authority in the Church, Theology of parish, local community); practical and contextual theology; Christian prayer
Email: wclark@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 433 Phone: 508-793-2717
Additional Information »

 

 

Caner K. Dagli

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Islamic studies
Email: cdagli@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 435 Phone: 508-793-2384
Additional Information »

 

 

Gary P. DeAngelis

Profile Image Name

Lecturer, Associate Director of Special Studies 
Ph.D., Boston University/Harvard University
Fields: Asian religions, mysticism, Chinese religions, Japanese religions
Email: gdeangel@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 326 Phone: 508-793-2498
Additional Information »

 

Mary M. Doyle Roche

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic moral theology and social teaching, Christian ethics, virtue ethics, bioethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mroche@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 428 Phone: 508-793-2585
Additional Information »

 

Matthew T. Eggemeier

Profile Image Name

Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: modern and contemporary Christian theologies; political and liberation theologies; postmodern theology
Emailmeggemei@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 204 Phone: 508-793-3948
Additional Information »

 

 

Peter Fay

Profile Image Name

Visiting Lecturer
Ph.D., Cand., Boston College
Email: pfay@holycross.edu
Phone: 508-793-3549

 

 

 

Peter J. Fritz

fritz

Edward Bennett Williams Fellow, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
FieldsCatholic systematic theology (especially the theology of Karl Rahner, SJ), modern Christian history, theological aesthetics, theology and visual art, critical responses to neoliberal capitalism
Email: pfritz@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 434 Phone: 508-793-3501
Additional Information »

 

John F. Gavin, S.J.

gavin

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, Rome, Italy
Fields: Catholic theology, patristics
Email: jgavin@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 421    Phone: 508-793-3446
Additional Information »

 

 

Karen V. Guth

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: Christian social ethics, public and political theologies, feminist ethics and theologies
Emailkguth@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 430 Phone: 508-793-3359
Additional Information »

 

  

Mahri Leonard-Fleckman

Profile Image Name

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., New York University
Fields: Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Email: mleonard@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 431 Phone: 508-793-3435
Additional Information »

 

 

Todd Lewis

Profile Image Name

Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions, anthropology of religions, modernization, ecology and religion 
Emailtlewis@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 425     Phone:   508-793-3436
Additional Information »

 

 

Tat siong Benny Liew

Profile Image Name

Class of 1956 Professor in New Testament Studies
Ph.D., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: synoptic gospels, gospel of John, cultural and racial interpretations and receptions of the Bible, apocalypticism, Asian American history and literature
Additional Information »

 

 

William E. Reiser, S.J.

reiser

Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: New Testament Theology, Christology, Christian Spirituality, Systematic Theology
Email: wreiser@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 401 Phone: 508-793-3412
Additional Information »

 

 

Virginia Ryan

Profile Image Name

Lecturer
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: 
Catholic Theological Ethics, Christian Social Ethics, Bioethics, Environmental Ethics
Emailvryan@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 454     Phone: 508-793-3467
Additional Information»

 

 

Mathew N. Schmalz

Profile Image Name

Professor 
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: global Catholicisms, Hinduism, Catholic esotericism, modern religious movements 
Emailmschmalz@holycross.edu  
Office:  Smith 404      Phone: 508-793-2557
Additional Information »

 

Nathan D. Wood-House

visiting assistant professor nathan wood-house

Ph.D. Institution: Boston College
Fields of study: Black liberation theology, political theology, critical race studies, Blackness studies, critical theory, political philosophy
Office number: Smith 423
Phone number in office: 508-793-3567
Additional Information»

 

 

Staff

Katherine Barrett

Academic Administrative Coordinator
Departments of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Emailkbbarret@holycross.edu
Office: Smith Hall 403   Phone: 508-793-3404 
PO Box: 42A 

 

Faculty Emeriti

Mary E. Hobgood

hobgood

Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Temple University
Fields: Christian social ethics, Catholic social teaching, economic ethics, feminist ethics 
Emailmhobgood@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Alice L. Laffey

laffey

Associate Professor Emerita
S.S.D., Pontifical Biblical Institute of Rome
Fields: Hebrew scriptures/ Old Testament, feminist Hermeneutics, ecology and the Bible 
Emailalaffey@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

James B. Nickoloff

nickoloff

Associate Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Theological Union, Berkeley, CA
Fields: Theology of Liberation
Emailjnickolo@holycross.edu

 

 

Joanne M. Pierce

Profile Image Name

Professor, Emerita
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: liturgical studies, medieval Christianity, ritual studies, ecumenical theology, theology and speculative/science fiction 
Email: jpierce@holycross.edu