You are here

Faculty & Staff


William E. Reiser, S.J.

reiser

Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: New Testament Theology, Christology, Christian Spirituality, Systematic Theology
Email: wreiser@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 401 Phone: 508-793-3412
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Alan J. Avery Peck

Profile Image Name

Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies  
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Judaic studies, history and literature of early Rabbinic Judaism, Hebrew language
Email: aavery@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 405 Phone: 508-793-3411
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Bernadette J. Brooten

clark

Lecturer, Kraft-Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies at Brandeis University
Ph.D., Harvard University
 

 

 

 

 

William A. Clark, S.J.

clark

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Weston Jesuit School of Theolog
Fields: ecclesiology (authority in the Church, Theology of parish, local community); practical and contextual theology; Christian prayer
Email: wclark@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 433 Phone: 508-793-2717
Additional Information »

 

 

Caner K. Dagli

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Islamic studies
Email: cdagli@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 435 Phone: 508-793-2384
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Gary P. DeAngelis

Profile Image Name

Lecturer, Associate Director of Special Studies 
Ph.D., Boston University/Harvard University
Fields: Asian religions, mysticism, Chinese religions, Japanese religions
Email: gdeangel@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 326 Phone: 508-793-2498
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Mary M. Doyle Roche

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic moral theology and social teaching, Christian ethics, virtue ethics, bioethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mroche@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 428 Phone: 508-793-2585
Additional Information »

 

 

Matthew T. Eggemeier

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: modern and contemporary Christian theologies; political and liberation theologies; postmodern theology
Emailmeggemei@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 204 Phone: 508-793-3948
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Matthew Farley

Profile Image Name

Visiting Lecturer
Email: 
mfarley@holycross.edu
Office: Smith Hall 429   Phone: 508-793-3979

 

 

 

 

Peter J. Fritz

Profile Image Name

Edward Bennett Williams Fellow, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields:Catholic systematic theology (especially the theology of Karl Rahner, SJ), modern Christian history, theological aesthetics, theology and visual art, critical responses to neoliberal capitalism
Email: pfritz@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 434 Phone: 508-793-3501
Additional Information »

 

 

John F. Gavin, S.J.

gavin

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, Rome, Italy
Fields: Catholic theology, patristics
Email: jgavin@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 421    Phone: 508-793-3446
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Karen V. Guth

Profile Image Name

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: Christian social ethics, public/political theology, feminist ethics/theologies
Emailkguth@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 430 Phone: 508-793-3359
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Caroline E. Johnson Hodge

Profile Image Name

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: New Testament, Paul, women in early Christianity, kinship and ethnicity, domestic religious practices 
Email: chodge@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 429 Phone: 508-793-3405
Additional Information »

 

 

Mahri Leonard-Fleckman

Profile Image Name

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., New York University
Fields: Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Email: mleonard@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 431 Phone: 508-793-3435
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Todd Lewis

Profile Image Name

Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions, anthropology of religions, modernization, ecology and religion 
Email: tlewis@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 425     Phone:   508-793-3436
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Tat siong Benny Liew

Profile Image Name

Class of 1956 Professor in New Testament Studies
On Leave 2019 - 2020

Ph.D., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: synoptic gospels, gospel of John, cultural and racial interpretations and receptions of the Bible, apocalypticism, Asian American history and literature
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Joanne M. Pierce

Profile Image Name

Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: liturgical studies, medieval Christianity, ritual studies, ecumenical theology, theology and speculative/science fiction 
Email: jpierce@holycross.edu  
Office:  Smith 423     Phone: 508-793-3452
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Russell C. Powell

Profile Image Name

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Princeton Theological Seminary
Fields: Religion and ecology, environmental studies, ecocriticism, ecotheology, modern American social criticism
Email: rpowell@holycross.edu
Office: Smith Hall 424  Phone: 508-793-2364
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

Virginia Ryan

Profile Image Name

Lecturer
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: 
Catholic Theological Ethics, Christian Social Ethics, Bioethics, Environmental Ethics
Email: vryan@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 454     Phone: 508-793-3467
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Mathew N. Schmalz

Profile Image Name

On Leave Fall 2019
Professor
 
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: global Catholicisms, Hinduism, Catholic esotericism, modern religious movements 
Email: mschmalz@holycross.edu  
Office:  Smith 404      Phone: 508-793-2557
Additional Information »

 

 

Staff

Brianna Ouellette

Academic Administrative Coordinator for Philosophy and Religious Studies
Email: bouellet@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 403 Phone: 508-793-3404

 

 

 

 

Professors Emeriti

Mary E. Hobgood

hobgood

Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Temple University
Fields: Christian social ethics, Catholic social teaching, economic ethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mhobgood@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Alice L. Laffey

laffey

Associate Professor Emerita
S.S.D., Pontifical Biblical Institute of Rome
Fields: Hebrew scriptures/ Old Testament, feminist Hermeneutics, ecology and the Bible 
Email: alaffey@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

James B. Nickoloff

nickoloff

Associate Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Theological Union, Berkeley, CA
Fields: Theology of Liberation
Email: jnickolo@holycross.edu