You are here

Faculty & Staff

William E. Reiser,  S.J.

Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: New Testament Theology, Christology, Christian Spirituality, Systematic Theology
Office:  Smith 401   Phone:  508-793-3413
Email: wreiser@holycross.edu  
Additional Information »

 

 

Alan J. Avery-Peck

Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies 
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Judaic studies, history and literature of early Rabbinic Judaism, Hebrew language
Email: aavery@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 405     Phone:  508-793-3411
Additional Information »

 

 

Todd Lewis

Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions, anthropology of religions, modernization, ecology and religion 
Email: tlewis@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 425     Phone:   508-793-3436
Additional Information »

 

 

Tat siong Benny Liew

Class of 1956 Professor in New Testament Studies
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Fields: synoptic gospels, gospel of John, cultural and racial interpretations and receptions of the Bible, apocalypticism, Asian American history and literature
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Joanne M. Pierce

Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: liturgical studies, medieval Christianity, ritual studies, ecumenical theology, theology and speculative/science fiction 
Email: jpierce@holycross.edu  
Office: 
 Smith 423     Phone:   508-793-3452
Additional Information »

 

 

William A. Clark, S.J.

On Leave 2018 - 2019

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Weston Jesuit School of Theology
Fields: ecclesiology (authority in the Church, Theology of parish, local community); practical and contextual theology; Christian prayer
Email: wclark@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 433     Phone:  508-793-2717
Additional Information »

 

 

Caner K. Dagli

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Islamic studies
Email: cdagli@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith 435    Phone:   508-793-2384
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Matthew T. Eggemeier

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: modern and contemporary Christian theologies; political and liberation theologies; postmodern theology
Email: meggemei@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 432       Phone:  508-793-3948
Additional Information »

 

 

 

John F. Gavin,  S.J.

Associate Professor
S.T.D., Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, Rome, Italy
Fields: Catholic theology, patristics
Email: jgavin@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 421    Phone:   508-793-3446
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Caroline E. Johnson Hodge 

On Leave 2018 - 2019

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: New Testament, Paul, women in early Christianity, kinship and ethnicity, domestic religious practices 
Email: chodge@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 429     Phone:   508-793-3405
Additional Information »

 

 

Mary M. Doyle Roche

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic moral theology and social teaching, Christian ethics, virtue ethics, bioethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mroche@holycross.edu  
Office:
 Smith 428    Phone:   508-793-2585
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Mathew N. Schmalz

Associate Professor 
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: global Catholicisms, Hinduism, Catholic esotericism, modern religious movements 
Email: mschmalz@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 404      Phone: 508-793-2557
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Peter J. Fritz

Edward Bennett Williams Fellow, Associate Professor
On Leave 2017-2018

Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Fields: Catholic systematic theology (especially the theology of Karl Rahner, SJ), modern Christian history, theological aesthetics, theology and visual art, critical responses to neoliberal capitalism
Email:pfritz@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 434     Phone:   508-793-3501
Additional Information »

 

 

R.L. Green

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara
Fields: religion in the Americas; indigenous religious traditions; African diaspora; Spanish Catholic thought
Email: rgreen@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 433    Phone:   508-793-3466
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Karen V. Guth

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: Christian social ethics, public/political theology, feminist ethics/theologies
Email: kguth@holycross.edu
Office: Smith 430       Phone:  508-793-3359
Additional Information »

 

 

Gary P. DeAngelis

Lecturer, Associate Director of Special Studies 
Ph.D., Boston University/Harvard University
Fields: Asian religions, mysticism, Chinese religions, Japanese religions
Email: gdeangel@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Smith 326     Phone:  508-793-2498
Additional Information »

 

 

Bernadette J. Brooten

Lecturer, Kraft-Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies at Brandeis University
Ph.D., Harvard University

 

 

 

 

Virginia Ryan

Lecturer
Ph.D., Boston College
Fields: Catholic Theological Ethics, Christian Social Ethics, Bioethics, Environmental Ethics
Email: vryan@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 454     Phone: 508-793-3467

 

 

 

Professors Emeriti

Mary E. Hobgood

Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Temple University
Fields: Christian social ethics, Catholic social teaching, economic ethics, feminist ethics 
Email: mhobgood@holycross.edu

 

 

Alice L. Laffey

Associate Professor Emerita
S.S.D., Pontifical Biblical Institute of Rome
Fields: Hebrew scriptures/ Old Testament, feminist Hermeneutics, ecology and the Bible 
Email: alaffey@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

James B. Nickoloff

Associate Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Theological Union, Berkeley, CA
Fields: Theology of Liberation
Email: jnickolo@holycross.edu