Faculty & Staff

Academic Faculty

Jessica P. Waldoff

jessica waldoff

Professor, Director of Academics
Ph.D., Cornell University
Fields: 18th-and 19th-Century Music History, Mozart, Opera, Song
Email: jwaldoff@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 456 Phone: (508) 793-2298
Additional Information »

 

Chris Arrell

chris arrell

Associate Professor
Director, Laptop Ensemble 

D.M.A., Cornell University
Fields: Theory, Composition, Electronic and Computer Music
Emailcarrell@holycross.edu  
Office: Brooks 144 Phone: (508) 793-3339
Additional Information »

 

Daniel J. DiCenso

daniel dicenso

Associate Professor 
Ph.D., University of Cambridge
Fields: History, Early Music, Chant, Rock, Hip-Hop
Emailddicenso@holycross.edu
Office:Brooks 343 Phone: (508) 793-2390
Additional Information »

 

Matthew J. Jaskot

matthew jaskot

Professor of Practice and Lecturer
D.M.A., University of Maryland
Fields:  Theory, 20th-Century Music
Email: mjaskot@holycross.edu 
Office: Brooks 343 Phone: (508) 793-2721
Additional Information »

 

 

Brian Saia

saia

Visiting Lecturer
MFA, California Institute of the Arts
Fields: Audio Recording, Mixing, Mastering, Production, Post-Production
Emailbsaia@holycross.edu
Office:  Brooks 240   Phone: 508-793-3504
Additional Information»

 

Jeannette Jones

professor jones music

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields:  History, Renaissance, Disability Studies, popular music
Email jdjones@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 243 Phone: (508) 793-2699
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Schuyler Whelden

Visiting Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Fields:  Ethnomusicology, Latin American Music, Global Popular Music, Music and Politics
Email: swhelden@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 460   Phone: 508-793-2297
PO Box: 0
Additional Information»

 

Jaqueline (Lin) Georgis

woman smiling at the camera

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
Fields: Ethnomusicology
Emailjgeorgis@holycross.edu
Office:  Brooks 457  Phone: 508-793-2294
Additional Information»

 


Joseph V. Nelson

image of a man looking at the camera he has short hair with facial hair

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Fields: 17th and 18th -Century Music, Sound Studies, Opera, Popular Music, Philosophy
Emailjnelson@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 457  Phone: 508-793-2294  
Additional Information»

 

Performance Faculty

 Michael Carney

Michael carney Director of Orchestra and Wind Ensemble

Interim Director of Orchestra and Wind Ensemble
B.M. in Music Education and a B.S. in Computer Systems Engineering; UMASS, Amherst, M.M. in Instrumental Conducting; Univ. of Hartford, D.M.A. in Instrumental Conducting; University of Hartford
Emailmtcarney@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 446B 
Additional Information»

 

I Nyoman Catra

I nyoman catra

Visiting Fellow in Balinese Music, Theatre and Dance 
Ph.D., Wesleyan University  
Fields: Balinese Theatre
Email: icatra@holycross.edu
Office: O'Kane 489 Phone: 508-793-2762
Additional Information»

 

Katie Gardiner

Katie Gardner Interim Director of Choirs at Holy Cross.

Interim Director of  Choirs
D.M., Indiana University Jacobs School of Music
Email: kgardine@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 446A
Additional Information»

 

 

Ezequiel Menendez

Distinguished Scholar in Residence in the Department
of Music as a Visiting Professor of Music, Organ

D.M.A. Boston University
M.M Yale University
Email: emenende@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

Michael Monaghan

michael monaghan

Lecturer; Director, Jazz Ensemble
M.A. University of Lowell
Email:mmonagha@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

Sergio Muñoz Leiva

sergio munoz

Interim Director of Chamber Music, Vocal Music
Emailsmunoz@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 


Instrumental and Vocal Instructors

Stephanie Busby

stephanie busbyMusic Lesson Instructor, Bassoon
Email:
stephaniebusby@gmail.com  
Additional Information »
 



 

William Cotten

william cottenMusic Lesson Instructor, Voice
Email:
 wcotten@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »


 



Joseph Halko

joseph halkoMusic Lesson Instructor, Oboe
Email: 
jhalko@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 



Jonathan Hess

jonathan hess

Music Lesson Instructor, Percussion & Drums
Email:  
jhess@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

Bruce Hopkins

bruce hopkins

Music Lesson Instructor, Trumpet
Email: 
bhopkins@holycross.edu   
Phone: 
401-568-2302
Additional Information»

 

 

Ona Jonaityte

ona jonaityte

Music Lesson Instructor, Flute
Email: ojonaity@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 

William Kirkley

William Kirkley

Music Lesson Instructor, Clarinet
Email: wkirkley@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 




 

Marina Krickler

krickler

Music Lesson Instructor, French horn
Email: mkrickle@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

Aleksandra Labinska

aleksandra labinska music department

Music Lesson Instructor, Violin
Ph.D.,Boston University College of the Arts
Emailalabinsk@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Ulysses Loken

Music Lesson Instructor, Piano
Email: uloken@holycross.edu
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Ezequiel Menendez

Distinguished Scholar in Residence in the Department
of Music as a Visiting Professor of Music, Organ

D.M.A. Boston University
M.M Yale University
Email: emenende@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Michael Monaghan

michael monaghan

Lecturer; Director, Jazz Ensemble, Saxophone
M.A. University of Lowell
Email:mmonagha@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

Jeffrey Nevaras

jeffrey nevarasMusic Lesson Instructor, Electric Guitar and Steel-String Acoustic Guitar
Email:  
jnevaras@holycross.edu 
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Sonya Ovrutsky Fensome 

Sonya Ovrutsky Fensome instructor

Music Lesson Instructor, Piano
Emailsovrutsk@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 


Evan Perry

evan perry

Music Lesson Instructor, Instrument, Viola
Email: 
eeperry@holycross.edu
Additional Information»




 

Marsha Vleck

marsha vleckMusic Lesson Instructor,  Voice 
M.M. New England Conservatory
Email: mvleck@holycross.edu  
Additional Information»

 

 

Douglas Weeks

douglas weeksMusic Lesson Instructor, Trombone
M.M. University of Massachusetts
Email: dweeks@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 


Julia Yang

julia yang music lesson instructor

Music Lesson Instructor, Cello
Emailjyang@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

Jonathan Yasuda

jonathan yasudaMusic Lesson Instructor,  Piano
Email:
 jyasuda@holycross.edu  
Additional Information»

 


 

Staff

Brett Cotter 

Music Management Fellow
Email:  bcotter@holycross.edu
Office: Brooks 140
PO Box: 151A   Phone: 508 793- 3956

 

Alice Resker

alice resker

Music Office Coordinator
Email:
aresker@holycross.edu
PO Box: 151A Phone: (508) 793-2296





 

Faculty Emeriti

Carol Lieberman

Associate Professor, Emerita
D.M.A., Yale University
Fields: History (Baroque, Classical, Opera) and Violin Performance
Email: clieberm@holycross.edu
Additional Information»

 

 

Shirish Korde

shirish kordeDistinguished Professor of Humanities, Emeritus
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
Fields: Theory, Composition, World Music
Email skorde@holycross.edu  
Additional Information »