You are here

Faculty & Staff

Christine Coch

Associate Professor, Department Chair
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Fields: Renaissance English Literature and Culture; Shakespeare
Email: ccoch@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 224     Phone: 508-793-3947  
Additional Information »

 

 

Sarah Berry

Visiting Lecturer
Email:
sberry@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 215     Phone: 508-793-2577
Office hours: Fridays 10-11

 

 

 

 

Patricia L. Bizzell

(On Leave Fall 2018)
Distinguished Professor of Humanities
(Ph.D., Rutgers University)
Fields: Expository Writing; Theory and Practice of Rhetoric; American Literature to 1900; American Women's Literature
Email: pbizzell@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 210   Phone: 508-793-2524
Additional Information »

 

 

Nora Caplan-Bricker

Visiting Lecturer
Email: 
ncaplan@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 210     Phone: 508-793-2235
Office hours: Friday 1:00-3:00 and by appointment

 

 

 

 

Gregory Chase

Visiting Lecturer
Email:
gchase@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 222     Phone: 508-793-2658
Office hours: T 2-4, and by appointment

 

 

 

Leah Hager Cohen

Visiting Professor and James N. and Sarah L. O'Reilly Barrett Professor in Creative Writing
(M.S., Columbia University)
Fields: Creative Writing: Fiction and Nonfiction; Ethics of Storytelling
Email: lcohen@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 218    Phone: 508-793-3437
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Jennifer Deren

Visiting Lecturer
Email:
jderen@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 222     Phone: 508-793-3048
Office hours: MWF 11am-noon, and by appointment

 

 

 

 

 

Maurice A. GĂ©racht

Stephen J. Prior Professor of Humanities
(Ph.D., University of Wisconsin)
Fields: 18th Century English Literature; English, American, French Narrative Traditions and Narrative Theory; 20th Century Visual Arts; Intersections Between Visual Arts and Literature.
Email: mgeracht@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 213   Phone: 508-793-3442
Additional Information »

 

 

Debra L. Gettelman

Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Harvard University)
Fields: 19th Century British Literature and Culture; the Novel; Book History; Film Adaptation
Email: dgettelm@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 227B    Phone: 508-793-2759
Additional Information »

 

 

Madigan Haley

(On Leave 2018 - 2019)
Assistant Professor 

(Ph.D. University of Virginia)
Fields: 20th- and 21st-Century British Literature; Comparative World Literatures; Transnational Modernism; History and Theory of the Novel; Postcolonial and Global Studies
Email: mhaley@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 223   Phone: 508-793-2523
Additional Information»

 

 

Rebecca Kastleman

 

Visiting Assistant Professor
Email:
rkastlem@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 223    Phone: 508-793-3949
Office hours: M 2–4, F 10–11, or by appointment

 

 

 

Nadine M. Knight

Associate Professor
(Ph.D. Harvard University)
Fields: African American Literature; 19th and 20th Century American Literature; American Civil War Studies; Film and Television 
Email: 
nknight@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 227A  Phone: 508-793-2563
Additional Information »

 

 

Sarah Luria

Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Stanford University)
Fields: 19th Century American Literature; American studies (Intersections Between Visual/Material Culture, History, and Literature); 19th Century Political Oratory and Rhetoric; 19th Century Sentimentalism; Robert Lowell "For the Union Dead" Website
Email: sluria@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 211  Phone:  508-793-3443
Additional Information »

 

 

Shawn Lisa Maurer

Professor
(Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Fields: 18th Century British literature and Culture; History and Theory of the Novel; Satire; Feminist and Critical Theory; Women's and Gender Studies; Women Writers; Female Modernism, esp. Dorothy Richardson; 19th and 20th Century Anglo-American Women's Poetry
Email: smaurer@holycross.edu 
Office:
 Fenwick 229   Phone: 508-793-3444
Additional Information »

 

 

Jonathan Mulrooney

Professor
(Ph.D. Boston University)
Fields: British Romantic Literature; Romantic-period Theater and Public Culture; Nineteenth-Century British & American Literature; Film; Romantic Historicisms
Email: jmulroon@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 212  Phone: 508-793-3440
Additional Information »

 

 

Lee Oser

Professor
(Ph.D., Yale University)
Fields: English and American Poetry; Religion and Literature; Modernism; Catholic Fiction; Shakespeare and the Renaissance.
Email: leeoser@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 219  Phone: 508-793-2208
Additional Information »

 

 

Oliver de la Paz

Associate Professor
(M.F.A, Arizona State University)
Fields: Creative Writing: Poetry and Hybrid Genres; Contemporary American Poetry; Asian American Literature
Email: odelapaz@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 227   Phone: 508-793-2698
Additional Information »

 

 

Leila Philip

(On Leave 2018 - 2019)
Professor 

(M.F.A, Columbia University)
Fields: Creative Writing/Non-fiction
Email: lphilip@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 215   Phone: 508-793-2393
Additional Information »

 

 

K.J. Rawson

Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Syracuse University)
Fields: Composition and Rhetoric; Rhetorical History; Archives; LGBT Studies; Digital Media
Email: kjrawson@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 214    Phone: 508-793-2552
Additional Information »

 

 

Stephanie Reents

Associate Professor
(M.F.A., University of Arizona)
Fields: Fiction; Contemporary American Fiction; Experimental Narrative Writing
Email: sreents@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 230    Phone: 508-793-2709
Additional Information »

 

 

Paige Reynolds

Professor
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Fields: Modern and Contemporary Irish Literature; Irish Studies; 20th Century British and American Literature and Culture; Modern Drama and Performance.
Email: preynold@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 228   Phone: 508-793-2695
Additional Information »

 

 

Jorge Santos

Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., University of Connecticut)
Fields: Ethnic American Literature; Immigrant/Migrant Literature; Ethnic Studies; American Cultural Studies; Graphic Narrative
Email: jsantos@holycross.edu  
Office:  Fenwick 225   Phone: 508-793-3460
Additional Information »

 

 

Melissa Schoenberger

(On Leave Fall 2018)
Assistant Professor

(Ph.D., Boston University)
Fields: Restoration and 18th Century British Literature; Poetry; Translation
Email: mschoenb@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 222  Phone: 508-793-3521
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Joel Simundich

Visiting Lecturer
(Ph.D., Brown University)
Email:  jsimundi@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 215    Phone: 508-793-2486
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Sarah Stanbury

Distinguished Professor of Arts and Humanities
(Ph.D., Duke University)
Fields: Chaucer and Late Medieval Literature; Medieval Visual Culture; Mapping Margery Kempe
Email: sstanbur@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 221  Phone:  508-793-3408
Additional Information »

 

 

Susan Elizabeth Sweeney

Monsignor Murray Professor in the Arts and Humanities
(Ph.D., Brown University)
Fields: Modernist and Postmodernist Fiction (American and European); Literary Revisions of Popular Narrative Genres (Folktale, Detective Story, Gothic Romance); 19th Century American Literature, esp. Poe, Hawthorne, and Dickinson; 20th Century Comparative Literature, esp. Nabokov
Email: ssweeney@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 220  Phone: 508-793-2690
Additional Information »

 
 

 

Morris Collins

Visiting Assistant Professor
MFA
The Pennsylvania State University
Email: mcollins@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 231  Phone:  508-793-3518
Additional Information»
 
 
 

Staff

Elise Saad

Administrative Assistant
Email: 
esaad@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 209  Phone: 508-793-2562

PO Box: 47A

 

 

Professors Emeriti

 

Robert Cording


Professor Emeritus
Email: rcording@holycross.edu

 

 

 

Patrick Ireland

Associate Professor Emeritus
Email: pireland@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

 

James M. Kee

Professor Emeritus
(Ph.D., University of Virginia)
Email: jkee@holycross.edu
 

 

 

 

Richard E. Matlak


Professor Emeritus
(Ph.D., Indiana University)
Fields: William Wordsworth and English romantic writers; biography and poetry; dialogical approaches to literature; transitions between periods of literary history and national literatures.
Email:rmatlak@holycross.edu

 

 

 

William Morse

Associate Professor Emeritus
Email: 
wmorse@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Helen Whall

Professor Emerita
(Ph.D., Yale University)
Fields: Shakespeare; Renaissance Drama; Modern Drama; Comic Theory
Email: hwhall@holycross.edu

 

 

 

B. Eugene McCarthy


Professor Emeritus
Email:
emccarthy@holycross.edu