You are here

Faculty & Staff

Christine Coch

Coch

Associate Professor, Department Chair
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Fields: Renaissance English Literature and Culture; Shakespeare
Email: ccoch@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 224     Phone: 508-793-3947  
Additional Information »


 

Greg Chase

Chase

Visiting Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., Boston University)
Fields: American and British Modernism; Philosophy and Literature; African American Literature; Southern Literature
Email: gchase@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 214     Phone: 508-793-2658
Additional Information »




Leah Hager Cohen

Hager Cohen

Visiting Professor and James N. and Sarah L. O'Reilly Barrett Professor in Creative Writing
(M.S., Columbia University)
Fields: Creative Writing: Fiction and Nonfiction; Ethics of Storytelling
Email: lcohen@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 231   Phone: 508-793-3437
Additional Information»


 

Maurice A. Géracht

Géracht

Stephen J. Prior Professor of Humanities
(Ph.D., University of Wisconsin)
Fields: 18th Century English Literature; English, American, French Narrative Traditions and Narrative Theory; 20th Century Visual Arts; Intersections Between Visual Arts and Literature.
Email: mgeracht@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 213   Phone: 508-793-3442
Additional Information »

 


Debra L. Gettelman

Gettelman

Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Harvard University)
Fields: 19th Century British Literature and Culture; the Novel; Book History; Film Adaptation
Email: dgettelm@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 227B    Phone: 508-793-2759
Additional Information »
 



Madigan Haley

Haley

Assistant Professor 
(Ph.D. University of Virginia)
Fields: 20th- and 21st-Century British Literature; Comparative World Literatures; Transnational Modernism; History and Theory of the Novel; Postcolonial and Global Studies
Email: mhaley@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 223   Phone: 508-793-2523
Additional Information»



Robin Hemley

Hemley

W.H. Jenks Chair in Contemporary Letters
M.F.A. The University of Iowa
Email: rhemley@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 218  Phone: 508-793-2422
Hours: W 1:30-4:30, and by appt.




Sarah Klotz

Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. Ph.D., The University of California, Davis)
Fields: Composition and Rhetoric, Native American/Indigenous Studies, Writing Assessment, American Literature
Email: sklotz@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 210  Phone: 508-793-3965 
Additional Information»





Nadine M. Knight

Knight

Associate Professor
(Ph.D. Harvard University)
Fields: African American Literature; 19th and 20th Century American Literature; American Civil War Studies; Film and Television 
Email: 
nknight@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 227A  Phone: 508-793-2563
Additional Information »





Sarah Luria

Luria

Professor
(Ph.D., Stanford University)
Fields: 19th Century American Literature; American studies (Intersections Between Visual/Material Culture, History, and Literature); 19th Century Political Oratory and Rhetoric; 19th Century Sentimentalism; Robert Lowell "For the Union Dead" Website
Email: sluria@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 211  Phone:  508-793-3443
Additional Information »



Shawn Lisa Maurer

Maurer

Professor
(Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Fields: 18th Century British literature and Culture; History and Theory of the Novel; Satire; Feminist and Critical Theory; Women's and Gender Studies; Women Writers; Female Modernism, esp. Dorothy Richardson; 19th and 20th Century Anglo-American Women's Poetry
Email: smaurer@holycross.edu 
Office:
 Fenwick 229   Phone: 508-793-3444
Additional Information »



Jonathan Mulrooney

Mulrooney

Professor
(Ph.D. Boston University)
Fields: British Romantic Literature; Romantic-period Theater and Public Culture; Nineteenth-Century British & American Literature; Film; Romantic Historicisms
Email: jmulroon@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 212  Phone: 508-793-3440
Additional Information »



Lee Oser

Oser

Professor

On Leave 2019 - 2020 
(Ph.D., Yale University)
Fields: English and American Poetry; Religion and Literature; Modernism; Catholic Fiction; Shakespeare and the Renaissance.
Email: leeoser@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 219  Phone: 508-793-2208
Additional Information »




Oliver de la Paz

de la Paz

Associate Professor
(M.F.A, Arizona State University)
Fields: Creative Writing: Poetry and Hybrid Genres; Contemporary American Poetry; Asian American Literature
Email: odelapaz@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 227   Phone: 508-793-2698
Additional Information »




Leila Philip

Philip

Professor 
(M.F.A, Columbia University)
Fields: Creative Writing/Non-fiction
Email: lphilip@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 215   Phone: 508-793-2393
Additional Information »



K.J. Rawson

Rawson

Associate Professor

On Leave 2019 - 2020
(Ph.D., Syracuse University)
Fields: Composition and Rhetoric; Rhetorical History; Archives; LGBT Studies; Digital Media
Email: kjrawson@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 214    Phone: 508-793-2552
Additional Information »



Stephanie Reents

Reents

Associate Professor
(M.F.A., University of Arizona)
Fields: Fiction; Contemporary American Fiction; Experimental Narrative Writing
Email: sreents@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 230    Phone: 508-793-2709
Additional Information »



Paige Reynolds

Reynolds

Professor
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Fields: Modern and Contemporary Irish Literature; Irish Studies; 20th Century British and American Literature and Culture; Modern Drama and Performance.
Email: preynold@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 228   Phone: 508-793-2695
Additional Information »



Jorge Santos

Santos

Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., University of Connecticut)
Fields: Ethnic American Literature; Immigrant/Migrant Literature; Ethnic Studies; American Cultural Studies; Graphic Narrative; Asian American Literature
Email: jsantos@holycross.edu  
Office:  Fenwick 225   Phone: 508-793-3460
Additional Information »



Melissa Schoenberger

Schoenberger

Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., Boston University)
Fields: Restoration and 18th Century British Literature; Poetry; Translation
Email: mschoenb@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 222  Phone: 508-793-3521
Additional Information »



Sarah Stanbury

Stanbury

Distinguished Professor of Arts and Humanities
(Ph.D., Duke University)
Fields: Chaucer and Late Medieval Literature; Medieval Visual Culture; Mapping Margery Kempe
Email: sstanbur@holycross.edu  
Office: Fenwick 221  Phone:  508-793-3408
Additional Information »

 

Susan Elizabeth Sweeney

Sweeney

Monsignor Murray Professor in the Arts and Humanities
(Ph.D., Brown University)
Fields: Modernist and Postmodernist Fiction (American and European); Literary Revisions of Popular Narrative Genres (Folktale, Detective Story, Gothic Romance); 19th Century American Literature, esp. Poe, Hawthorne, and Dickinson; 20th Century Comparative Literature, esp. Nabokov
Email: ssweeney@holycross.edu  
Office: 
Fenwick 220  Phone: 508-793-2690
Additional Information »

 


Morris Collins

Collins

Visiting Assistant Professor
MFA
The Pennsylvania State University
Email: mcollins@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 231  Phone:  508-793-3518
Additional Information»



David Katz

Visiting Assistant Professor
Email
: dkatz@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 219   Phone: 508-793-2715





Nicole Lawrence

Visiting Lecturer
Email:
nllawren@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 220   Phone: 508-793-2722





Staff

Elise Saad

Academic Administrative Assistant
Email: 
esaad@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 209  Phone: 508-793-2562
PO Box: 47A
Office hours: M-F 8:30-4:30

 

 

 

Professors Emeriti

 

Patricia L. Bizzell

Bizzell

Distinguished Professor of Humanities Emerita
(Ph.D., Rutgers University)
Fields: Expository Writing; Theory and Practice of Rhetoric; American Literature to 1900; American Women's Literature
Email: pbizzell@holycross.edu  
Additional Information »

 

 

Robert Cording

Cording
Professor Emeritus
Email: rcording@holycross.edu

 

 

 

Patrick Ireland

Ireland

Associate Professor Emeritus
Email: pireland@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

 

James M. Kee

Kee

Professor Emeritus
(Ph.D., University of Virginia)
Email: jkee@holycross.edu
 

 

 

 

Richard E. Matlak

Matlak
Professor Emeritus
(Ph.D., Indiana University)
Fields: William Wordsworth and English romantic writers; biography and poetry; dialogical approaches to literature; transitions between periods of literary history and national literatures.
Email:rmatlak@holycross.edu

 

 

 

William Morse

Morse

Associate Professor Emeritus
Email: 
wmorse@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Helen Whall

Whall

Professor Emerita
(Ph.D., Yale University)
Fields: Shakespeare; Renaissance Drama; Modern Drama; Comic Theory
Email: hwhall@holycross.edu

 

 

 

B. Eugene McCarthy

McCarthy
Professor Emeritus
Email:
emccarthy@holycross.edu