Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Aaron M. Seider

seider

Associate Professor, Chair Department of Classics
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Fields: Latin literature; human landscapes of ancient Italy; gender in antiquity and its reception; constructions of memory in Roman culture
Email:aseider@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 423    Phone: 508-793-3976
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Nancy E. Andrews

andrews

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Hellenistic poetry, Greek and Roman epic poetry, Greek and Roman mythology
Email:nandrews@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 424   Phone:  508-793-2549 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Mary Ebbott

ebbott

Professor
 On Leave 2021-2022
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Homeric epic (http://www.homermultitext.org), oral poetics, Greek tragedy
Email:mebbott@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 425     Phone:   508-793-2631
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Katherine Lu Hsu

hsu

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Fields: Greek literature, mythology, violence and heroism, reception, migration in ancient myth
Emailkluhsu@holycross.edu
Office:  Fenwick 426   Phone:   508-793-3959  
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

 

 

Timothy Joseph

joseph
Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Latin historiography and epic poetry; the reception of the Classics in the U.S.
Email:tjoseph@holycross.edu 
Office:   Fenwick 427    Phone:   508-793-3780
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Daniel Libatique

libatique

 

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields: Ovid and Augustan poetry, Sophocles and Greek tragedy, gender politics and sexuality, narratology, reception, Digital Humanities
Email: dlibatiq@holycross.edu
Office: Fenwick 410  Phone:  508-793-3070

 

 

 

Dominic M. Machado

machado

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., Brown University 
Fields: Roman history and historiography, particularly collective action, dissent and resistance in the late Republic and early Empire
Email: dmachado@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 413   Phone: 508-793-2202
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

Thomas R. Martin

martin

Professor,  Jeremiah W. O'Connor Jr. Chair in Classics
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Greek and Roman history
Email:tmartin@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 422     Phone:  508-793-2550
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Ellen Perry

perry

Professor
Monsignor Edward G. Murray Professor of the Arts and Humanities

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Fields: Classical archaeology, ancient sculpture, Roman art and rhetoric
Email:eperry@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 414    Phone:  508-793-3068
Additional Information »

 

 

 

D. Neel Smith

smith

Professor
On Leave 2021-2022

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Fields: Classical archaeology, ancient science, digital methods in Classical studies
Email:nsmith@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 415    Phone: 508-793-2621
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Natalie Susmann

susman

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields: Mediterranean landscape archaeology; nature, memory, and sacred space; digital humanities
Emailnsusmann@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 425 Phone:  508-793-3093
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Edward J. Vodoklys S.J.

vodoklys

Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Greek and Roman literature, early Christian literature
Email:evodokly@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Staff

Karen Harney

harney

 

Administrative Coordinator Classics
Email:  kharney@holycross.edu 
Office:  Fenwick 411   Phone  508-793-2547
 

 

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

 

Blaise Nagy

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Greek and Roman history, Greek and Roman religion
Email:bnagy@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

 

William J. Ziobro

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Fields: Greek tragedy (Sophocles), American Classical tradition, American neoclassical architecture
Email:wziobro@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »