You are here

Pilgrims and Their Reflections

Read the personal accounts and reflections of pilgrims:

  • Chick Weiss, Director of Grants and Foundation Relations, wrote "Sustaining Institutional Mission through 'Pilgrimage'" for Liberal Education magazine's Summer 2009 issue. Download the PDF.
  • The Fall 2010 issue of Xavier Magazine featured three faculty from its institution who participated in the pilgrimage. Read the story online.
  • Xavier University alumna and former adjunct faculty member Holly Schapker was also featured in the spring 2010 issue of Company magazine for the series of paintings she created following her pilgrimage experience. Download the PDF.
  • See the full list of Xavier University pilgrims here.
  • See the list of past pilgrims and read the impressions of Loyola University Maryland faculty.

Past Pilgrims

Isabel Alvarez Borland, Modern Languages and Literatures
Susan Amatangelo, Modern Languages - Italian
Nancy Andrews, Classics
Tim Austin, VPAA and Dean*
Cristina Ballantine, Mathematics and Computer Science
Renee Beard, Sociology and Anthropology
Rob Baumann, Economics
Michael Beatty, Visual Arts
Robert Bellin, Biology
Pat Bizzell, English
Andrea Borghini, Philosophy*
Melissa Boyle, Economics
Don Brand, Political Science
Danuta Bukatko, Psychology
Rosemary Carbine, Religious Studies*
Loren Cass, Political Science
Bill Campbell, S.J., Vice President for Mission
Thomas Cecil, Mathematics and Computer Science
Stephenie Chaudoir, Psychology
Christine Coch, English
Mary Conley, History
Paul Covino, Chaplain*
Gregory DiGirolamo, Psychology
Matthew T. Eggemeier, Religious Studies
Ericka Fisher, Education
Alison Fleming, Visual Arts*
Lisa Fluet, English*
Megan Fox-Kelly, Chaplain
Sharon Frechette, Math and Computer Science
Margaret Freije, Mathematics, Dean of the College and Provost
Dan Frost, Modern Languages - Spanish
Andrew Futterman, Psychology, Health Professions Advisor*
Francisco Gago-Jover, Modern Languages - Spanish
Kristine Goodwin, Student Affairs*
Thomas Gottschang, Economics
Karen Guth, Religious Studies
Judy Hannum, Director of Planning and Budget*
Paul Harman, S.J., Special Assistant to the President
James Hayes, S.J., Chaplain
Jamie Herrick, Laboratory and Studio Safety
Richard Herrick, Chemistry
Kendy Hess, Philosophy
Cynthia Hooper, History
Kurt Hultgren, Theatre
David Hummon, Sociology and Anthropology*
Paul Irish, Student Affairs
Ronald Jarret, Chemistry and Associate Dean
Patricia Johnston, Visual Arts
David Karmon, Visual Arts
Robert Keane, S.J., Mission Office*
Marybeth Kearns-Barrett, Chaplain
Denis Kennedy, Political Science
Greta Kenney, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Katherine Kiel, Economics
Laurie Smith King, Mathematics and Computer Science
Nadine Knight, English
Matthew Koss, Physics
Alice Laffey, Religious Studies*
Tom Landy, McFarland Center for Religion, Ethics and Culture
Mary Lee Ledbetter, Biology*
Jerry Lembke, Sociology and Anthropology*
Neil Lipsitz, Associate Dean for Student Development
John Little, Mathematics and Computer Science
Min Kyung Lee, Visual Arts*
Todd Lewis, Religious Studies
Alison Bryant Ludden, Psychology
Sarah Luria, English
Gregory Lynch, S.J., Chaplain*
Earle Markey, S.J., Admissions
Rich Matlak, English/CISS
Shawn Maurer, English
Ann McDermott, Admissions
Kim McElaney, Director of College Chaplains*
Theresa McBride, History
Michael C. McFarland, SJ., President*
Paul Melley, Chaplain*
Gwenn Miller, History
Mable Millner, Asst. Dean and Director of Multicultural Education
Jim Miracky, S.J., English and Associate Dean*
Sara Mitchell, Biology
Jennie Germann Molz, Sociology and Anthropology
Suzanne D. Morrissey, Editor, Holy Cross Magazine*
Jonathan Mulrooney, English
Munyaradzi Munochiveyi, History
Blaise Nagy, Classics*
Debra O'Connor, Economics
Edward O'Donnell, History
Ellen Perry, Classics
Michael Perry, VP Development and Alumni*
Jackie Peterson, VP Student Affairs*
Leila Philip, English
Justin Poche, History
Margaret A. Post, Community-based Learning*
Virginia Raguin, Visual Arts
Jeff Reno, Political Science*
Paige Reynolds, English
Cristi Rinklin, Visual Arts
Susan Rodgers, Sociology and Anthropology*
Constance Royden, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ellen Ryder, Director of Public Affairs*
John Savard, S.J., Chaplain*
Mark Savolis, Archives
Denise Schaeffer, Political Science, Montserrat
Thibaut Schilt, Modern Languages and Literature - French
Stephen Shapiro, Modern Languages - French*
Paul Sheff, V.P. for Advancement*
Janine Shertzer, Physics
May Sim, Philosophy
Elizabeth Small, General Counsel
Sarah Stanbury, English
William Stempsey, S.J., Philosophy
Cynthia Stone, Modern Languages - Spanish
Sue Crawford Sullivan, Sociology and Anthropology
Victoria Swigert, Sociology and Anthropology and class dean*
Karen Teitel, Economics and Accounting
Ward Thomas, Political Science
Karen Turner, History*
Chick Weiss, Director of Grants and Foundation Relations*
Melissa Weiner, Sociology and Anthropology
Helen Whall, English*
Amy Wolfson, Psychology, Associate Dean*
Alex Yen, Economics*
Stephanie Yuhl, History
Ann Zelesky, Associate Athletic Director*

*retired/former members of the Holy Cross Community

Over the years, Holy Cross' participation has been financially supported by the Leavey Family Foundation, The Lilly Vocation Discernment Initiative, The Holy Cross Jesuit Community, and the President's Mission Fund.