You are here

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Susan Amatangelo

Amatangelo

Department Chair, World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Professor, Italian Studies

Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields:  Modern Italian Literature, Giovanni Verga, Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies
Email: samatang@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 404    Phone: 508-793-3347
Additional Information »

 

 

Arabic

Ibrahim Abdessalam 

default image

Program Coordinator, Arabic Studies
Lecturer of Arabic

M. A. American University, Cairo, Egypt
Fields: Teaching Arabic as a Foreign Language, Corpus Linguistics, Translation
Emailiabdessa@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 429   Phone: 508-793-3042
Office hours: Monday/Wednesday 12:00-2:00 and By Appointment.
Additional Information»

 

 

Chinese

Ji Hao

Hao

Coordinator of Chinese Studies 
Associate Professor, Chinese Studies

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Fields: Premodern Chinese Literature
Emailjhao@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 427     Phone: 508-793-2608
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Jingjing Cai

default image

 

Visiting Assistant Professor, Chinese Studies
Email: 
jcai@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 426  Phone: 508-793-2299

 

 

 

Yu-Jung Lin

Assistant Professor, Chinese Studies
Ph.D., Indiana University Bloomington
Fields: Phonology and phonetics (syllable structure, tones, rhythm), Psycholinguistics (the influence of orthography on sound processing), Second language acquisition
(tense and lax vowel distinction by L1 and L2 learners, diphthong production and perception by L1 and L2 learners)
Email: yjlin@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 426     
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Claudia N. Ross

Ross

Professor, Chinese Studies
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Fields: Linguistics (lexical and semantic structure), Chinese language pedagogy
Emailcross@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 442     Phone: 508-793-3335
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Deaf Studies and Sign Languages

Stephanie Clark

default image

Program Coordinator, Deaf Studies and Sign Languages
Lecturer, Deaf Studies and Sign Languages
Email: 
sclark@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 444      Phone: 508-793-2237   

 

 

 

 

 

Ying Li

default image

Lecturer, Deaf Studies and Sign Languages
Email: 
yli@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 444    Phone: 508-762-1171

 

 

 

 

French & Francophone Studies

 Mary Ann Coppolino

Visiting Lecturer, French & Francophone Studies
Email: 
mcoppoli@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

Jean Ouédraogo

Ouedraogo

Eleanor Howard O’Leary Chair in French & Francophone Studies
Program Coordinator, French & Francophone Studies
Ph.D., University of Georgia-Athens
Fields: African and Caribbean Francophone Literatures and Cultures
Email: ojean@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 443     Phone: 508-793-2795
Additional Information »

 

 

Adele Parker

default image

Visiting Lecturer, French & Francophone Studies
Coordinator, French Language Sequence

Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: French Literature and Culture, Language
Emailaparker@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 415 Phone: 508-793-2457

 

 

 

Kathleen Suchenski

Visiting Lecturer, French & Francophone Studies
Emailksuchens@holycross.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Thibaut Schilt

Schilt

Associate Professor, French & Francophone Studies
On Leave 2020-2021

Ph.D., Ohio State University
Fields: French Cinema, Contemporary French Literature and Culture, Gender Studies
Emailtschilt@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 413    Phone: 508-793-2609
Additional Information »

 

 

German

Sylvia M. Schmitz-Burgard

Schmitz-Burgard

Associate Professor, German Studies
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Fields: 20th-, 19th-, and 18th-Century German Literature and Culture, Austrian Cultural History, 18th-Century European Novel, Women Writers, Law and Literature, Contemporary Literary Theory
Emailsschmitz@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 461     Phone: 508-793-3305
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Italian

Daniel Armenti

Visiting Lecturer, Italian Studies
Email: darmenti@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 453      Phone: 508-793-3438   

 

 

 

 

 

Giusy Di Filippo

default image

 

Visiting Assistant Professor, Italian Studies
Email: 
gdifilip@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 453   Phone: 508-793-3438

 

 

 

 

 

Giovanni Spani

Spani

Program Coordinator, Italian Studies
Coordinator, Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Associate Professor, Italian Studies 
Pedagogical Coordinator

Ph.D., Indiana University
Fields: Medieval & Renaissance Italian Literature
Emailgspani@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 452    Phone: 508-793-3834
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Russian

Amy Singleton Adams

default place holder

Professor, Russian Studies
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Fields: Russian Language, Literature, and Culture
Emailaadams@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 454     Phone: 508-793-2543
Additional Information »

 

 

 

 

Olga S. Partan

Partan

Associate Professor, Russian Studies
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Russian Language, Literature, and Culture
Emailopartan@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 457      Phone: 508-793-3832
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Staff

Carolyn Leeman

default image

Academic Administrative Assistant
Emailcleeman@holycross.edu 
Office: Stein 401 Phone: (508) 793-2447

 

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

Charlie Baker

default image

Associate Professor Emeritus

 

 

 

 

Baozhang He

     

    Associate Professor Emeritus