You are here

Faculty & Staff

Tomohiko Narita

Associate Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Fields: Experimental astrophysics — observations of low-mass X-ray binaries; development of X-ray satellite instrumentation.
Email:tnarita@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 109 Phone: (508) 793-2503
Additional Information »

 

 

Robert H. Garvey

On Leave Fall 2018

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Fields: Theoretical atomic physics – energy levels of rare-earth ions in crystals; yield spectra of atmospheric gases; philosophical implications of technology.
Email:rgarvey@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 015A Phone: (508) 793-2408
Additional Information »

 

 

Ben Kain

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Fields: Theoretical particle physics and cosmology -- supersymmetric model building; cosmological inflation; dark matter; cosmological perturbations and the CMB. Theoretical atomic and molecular physics -- ultracold atom Bose-Einstein conendensation; superfluidity.
Email:bkain@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 004 Phone: (508) 793-2440
Additional Information »

 

 

Matthew B. Koss

Professor
Ph.D., Tufts University
Fields: Experimental condensed matter and materials physics — dendritic growth; kinetics and morphology of solidification; experimentation in "microgravity".
Email:mkoss@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 014A Phone: (508) 793-2406
Additional Information »

 

 

Paul K. Oxley

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Experimental atomic physics — Producing highly-excited atoms and investigating their applications in fundamental atomic and plasma physics, including tests of Quantum Electrodynamics and the Correspondence Principle and studies of atom-electron scattering.
Email:poxley@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 107 Phone: (508) 793-2473
Additional Information »

 

 

Timothy Roach

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
Fields: Experimental atomic physics — laser manipulation of ultracold atoms; high-precision atomic spectroscopy.
Email:troach@holycross.edu
Office: O'Neil 221 Phone: (508) 793-3416
Additional Information »

 

 

Janine Shertzer

Distinguished Professor of Science
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Theoretical atomic and molecular physics — electron-atom and positron-atom collisions; exotic atoms; atoms in strong magnetic fields; finite element analysis
Email:jshertze@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 206 Phone: (508) 793-2470
Additional Information »

 

 

De-Ping Yang

Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Fields: Experimental condensed matter physics — properties of magnetic materials; materials analysis using X-ray diffraction, Mössbauer spectroscopy, and nuclear magnetic resonance; solid state physics and NMR theory
Email:dyang@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 110 Phone: (508) 793-2463
Additional Information »

 

 

Staff

Diane Jepson

Administrative Assistant
Email:djepson@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 104 Phone: 508-793-3381

 

 

 

 

Richard Miller

Machinist
Email:rmiller@holycross.edu
Office: Swords B6 Phone: 508-793-3383

 

 

 

 

Anthony Sacovitch

Lab Supervisor/Equipment Manager
Email:asacovit@holycross.edu
Office: Haberlin 222A Phone: 508-793-2485