Faculty & Staff

Advising Faculty

Neuroscience advising faculty provide academic guidance for students pursuing a minor or self-designed major in neuroscience. The Neuroscience Advisor assists students in designing, planning, and completing their programs of study. The Psychology Department Liaison and Biology Department Liaison are also available for initial consultations with psychology and biology majors, respectively. Contact one of the neuroscience advising faculty if you are interested in discussing the neuroscience program. Please see the neuroscience advising faculty statement on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Alo C. Basu

Associate Professor, Psychology
Neuroscience Program Advisor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Neurobiology of learning and memory, stress-related neuroplasticity, genetic and environmental risk factors for neuropsychiatric disorders
Email:abasu@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 403A Phone: (508) 793-3750
Additional Information

Daniel Bitran

Daniel Bitran Professor Psychology

Professor, Psychology
Science Coordinator
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
Fields: Behavioral neuroscience, psychopharmacology, and biological psychiatry; role of science and medicine in the Holocaust.
Email: dbitran@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 426  Phone: (508) 793-3329
Additional Information

Alexis S. Hill

Assistant Professor, Biology
Neuroscience Program Liaison for Biology
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Neurobiology, Neurogenetics and Behavior
Email:ahill@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 233 Phone: (508) 793-3543
Additional Information

André Isaacs

Associate Professor, Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Fields: Organic, Synthetic Methods
Email:akisaacs@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 325 Phone: (508) 793-3378
Additional Information

 

Patricia E. Kramer

Charles A. Dana Faculty Fellow and Associate Professor, Psychology
Class Dean for Class of 2022
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Face perception, social neuroscience, sensation and perception
Email: pkramer@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 204 Phone: (508) 793-2532
Additional Information

Michelle Mondoux

Associate Professor, Biology
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Effects of diet on behavior, role of neuronal genes in insulin signaling
Email: mmondoux@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 337 Phone: (508) 793-3360
Additional Information

Ryan E. B. Mruczek

Assistant Professor, Psychology
Neuroscience Program Liaison for Psychology
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Primate vision, object and tool representations, experience-dependent plasticity, visual illusions, systems neuroscience methods
Emailrmruczek@holycross.edu
Office: Beaven 403B   Phone: (508)793-2328
Additional Information»

Tomohiko Narita

Associate Professor, Physics
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Fields: Experimental astrophysics — observations of low-mass X-ray binaries; development of X-ray satellite instrumentation
Email:tnarita@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 109 Phone: (508) 793-2503
Additional Information

Constance Royden

Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Class Dean for Class of 2024
Ph.D., University of California at San Francisco, 1988
Fields: Computational and psychophysical studies of visual processing in the primate brain
Email: croyden@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 308 Phone: (508) 793-2472
Additional Information»

 

Affiliated Faculty

Neuroscience affiliated faculty are faculty who have ongoing teaching and/or research interests related to neuroscience.

Lawrence Cahoone

Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Fields: Philosophy of mind, metaphysics and natural science
Email: lcahoone@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 517 Phone: (508) 793 2460
Additional Information»

 

David B. Damiano

Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., Brown University, 1980, A.B. Dartmouth College, 1975
Fields: Application of methods from topological data analysis to study dynamic aspects of brain connectivity
Email: ddamiano@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 341 Phone: (508) 793-2476
Additional Information»

Gregory J. DiGirolamo

Associate Professor, Psychology
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Fields:  Cognitive neuroscience, cognitive control and its disturbance, visual attention
Email: gdigirol@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 402 Phone: (508) 793-3595
Additional Information»

Devin Gouvêa

Assistant Professor, Philosophy
Email:dgouvea@holycross.edu

 

 

Geoff D. Findlay

Associate Professor, Biology
Ph.D., University of Washington
Fields: Reproductive biology in fruit flies, including neuronal mediation of behavioral and physiological changes
Email: gfindlay@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 107 Phone: (508) 793-2655
Additional Information »

Sarah Petty

Associate Professor, Chemistry
Class Dean for Class of 2025
Ph.D., University of Liverpool
Fields: Protein misfolding in neurodegenerative diseases
Email: spetty@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 237 Phone: (508) 793-3428
Additional Information »

 

Muhammad Ali Qadri

Assistant Professor, Psychology
Ph.D., Tufts University
Fields:Animal cognition, comparative psychology, animal behavior, visual perception, action recognition, decision making
Email: mqadri@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 410 Phone: (508) 793-3760
Additional Information

Richard Schmidt

Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts, Psychology
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Fields: Cognitive Science, interpersonal coordination, interlimb coordination, dynamical theories of behavior, ecological psychology
Email: rschmidt@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 330 Phone: (508) 793-2244
Additional Information

Jameliah Inga Shorter-Bourhanou

Assistant Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., Penn State University, University Park, PA
Fields:Critical Philosophy of Race, Immanuel Kant (Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Race), African American Philosophy, Black Feminist Philosophy
Email: jshorter@holycross.edu 
Office: Smith Hall 516 Phone: (508) 793-3857
Additional Information

Edward J. Soares

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1994
Fields: Multivariate statistical methods, brain image analysis, evaluation of pre-clinical drug studies
Email: esoares@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 306 Phone: (508) 793-3368
Additional Information

Shannon Stock

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2011
Fields: Multivariate and longitudinal statistical methods, modeling of clinical outcomes in schizophrenia
Email: sstock@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 311 Phone: (508) 793-3312
Additional Information

Karsten R. Stueber

Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Tübingen
Fields: Philosophy of mind 
Email: kstueber@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 524 Phone: (508) 793 3395
Additional Information»

 

Staff

Laura Cortés

Academic Administrative Assistant
Email: lcortes@holycross.edu
Office: Beaven 327 Phone: (508) 793 3578