Faculty & Staff

Advising Faculty

Neuroscience advising faculty provide academic guidance for students pursuing a minor or self-designed major in neuroscience. The Neuroscience Advisor assists students in designing, planning, and completing their programs of study. The Psychology Department Liaison and Biology Department Liaison are also available for initial consultations with psychology and biology majors, respectively. Contact one of the neuroscience advising faculty if you are interested in discussing the neuroscience program. Please see the neuroscience advising faculty statement on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

 

Alo C. Basu

Neuroscience Program Advisor
Associate Professor, Psychology

Ph.D., Harvard University
Fields: Neurobiology of learning and memory, stress-related neuroplasticity, genetic and environmental risk factors for neuropsychiatric disorders
Email:abasu@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 403A PO Box:107A Phone: (508) 793-3750
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Alexis S. Hill

Neuroscience Program Liaison for Biology
Assistant Professor, Biology

Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Neurobiology, Neurogenetics and Behavior
Email:ahill@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 233 Phone: (508) 793-3543
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Ryan E. B. Mruczek

Neuroscience Program Liaison for Psychology
Assistant Professor, Psychology

Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Primate vision, object and tool representations, experience-dependent plasticity, visual illusions, systems neuroscience methods
Emailrmruczek@holycross.edu
Office: Beaven 403B   PO Box: 38A   Phone: (508)793-2328
Additional Information»

 

 

 

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

Neuroscience affiliated faculty are faculty who have ongoing teaching and/or research interests related to neuroscience.

 

John F. Axelson

Professor, Psychology
Ph.D., Tulane University
Fields: Neuroendocrinology, mind-body interactions, health and nutrition
Email: jaxelson@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 410 PO Box: 155A Phone: (508) 793-3434
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Daniel Bitran

Professor, Psychology
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
Fields: Psychopharmacology, drugs of abuse, and biological psychiatry
Email: dbitran@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 426 PO Box: 39A  Phone: (508) 793-3329
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Lawrence Cahoone

Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Fields: Philosophy of mind, metaphysics and natural science
Email: lcahoone@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 517 Phone: (508) 793 2460
Additional Information»

 

 

 

David B. Damiano

Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., Brown University, 1980, A.B. Dartmouth College, 1975
Fields: Application of methods from topological data analysis to study dynamic aspects of brain connectivity
Email: ddamiano@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 341 Phone: (508) 793-2476
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Gregory J. DiGirolamo

Associate Professor, Psychology
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Fields:  Cognitive neuroscience, cognitive control and its disturbance, visual attention
Email: gdigirol@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 402 PO Box: 216A Phone: (508) 793-3595
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Geoff D. Findlay

Associate Professor, Biology
Ph.D., University of Washington
Fields: Reproductive biology in fruit flies, including neuronal mediation of behavioral and physiological changes
Email: gfindlay@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 107 Phone: (508) 793-2655
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Patricia E. Kramer

Charles A. Dana Faculty Fellow and Associate Professor, Psychology
Class Dean of 2022
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Face perception, social neuroscience, sensation and perception
Email: pkramer@holycross.edu 
Office: Fenwick 204 Phone: (508) 793-2532
Additional Information

 

 

 

Brian Linton

Associate Professor, Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Fields: Organic, Biochemistry, Molecular recognition
Email: blinton@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 234 Phone: (508) 793-3560
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Michelle Mondoux

Associate Professor, Biology
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Effects of diet on behavior, role of neuronal genes in insulin signaling
Email: mmondoux@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 337 Phone: (508) 793-3360
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Sarah Petty

Associate Professor, Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Liverpool
Fields: Protein misfolding in neurodegenerative diseases
Email: spetty@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 237 Phone: (508) 793-3428
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Kenneth Prestwich

Professor, Biology
Ph.D., University of Florida
Fields: Sexual selection and acoustic signals
Email: kprestwi@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 108 Phone: (508) 793-2578
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Constance Royden

Neuroscience Program Liaison for Mathematics and Computer Science
Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science

Ph.D., University of California at San Francisco, 1988
Fields: Computational and psychophysical studies of visual processing in the primate brain
Email: croyden@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 308 Phone: (508) 793-2472
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Richard Schmidt

Edward A. O'Rorke Professor in the Liberal Arts, Psychology
Department Chair, Psychology
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Fields: Neural and behavioral dynamics underlying social motor coordination and its breakdown in Autism Spectrum Disorder and schizophrenia
Email: rschmidt@holycross.edu 
Office: Beaven 328 PO Box 176A  Phone: (508) 793-2244
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Edward J. Soares

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1994
Fields: Multivariate statistical methods, brain image analysis, evaluation of pre-clinical drug studies
Email: esoares@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 306 Phone: (508) 793-3368
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Shannon Stock

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2011
Fields: Multivariate and longitudinal statistical methods, modeling of clinical outcomes in schizophrenia
Email: sstock@holycross.edu 
Office: Haberlin 311 Phone: (508) 793-3312
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Karsten R. Stueber

Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Tübingen
Fields: Philosophy of mind 
Email: kstueber@holycross.edu  
Office: Smith 524 Phone: (508) 793 3395
Additional Information»