Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Karen A. Ober

ober

Professor
Department Chair

Ph.D., University of Arizona
Fields: Entomology, Evolutionary Biology and Systematics
Email: kober@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 227 Phone: (508) 793-3046
Additional Information »

 

Alimatu Acheampong 

alimatu acheampong professor biology department close image face of the women professor

Lecturer, Biology
Ph.D., Northeastern University
Field: Microbiology
Email:aacheamp@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 312 Phone: (508) 793-3829

 

 

Robert M. Bellin 

bellin

Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University
Fields: Biochemistry, Cancer Biology
Email: rbellin@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 331 Phone: (508) 793-3422
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Stephanie Crofts

bertin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle
Fields: Biomechanics, Functional Morphology, Comparative Anatomy
Email: scrofts@holycross.edu
Office: O'Neil 315 Phone: (508) 793-2594
Additional Information»

 

 

Anna Doyle 

doyle

Laboratory Instructor/Lecturer
M.L.A. Harvard University
Fields: Molecular and Cellular Biology and Genetics
Email: adoyle@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 314 Phone: (508) 793-3907

 

James M. Doyle 

professor jim doyle close image of the professor with glasses

 

Laboratory Instructor and Manager/Lecturer
M.A., Smith College
Fields: Ecology
Email: jdoyle@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 217 Phone: (508) 793-2588

 

Catherine M. Dumas 

cathy dumas professor biology close image of professor face

Laboratory Instructor/Lecturer
M.S., Worcester State University
Fields: Anatomy
Email: cdumas@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 214 Phone: (508) 793-2579
 

 

 

 

Jason Erichsen

facultysheild

  Research Associate
  B.S. Simmons University
  Email: jerichse@holycross.edu
  Office:  O'Neil 344   Phone:  508-793-3911

 

 

Geoffrey D. Findlay 

findlay

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington
Fields: Genetics and Genomics
Email:gfindlay@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 107 Phone: (508) 793-2655
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Kirsten Hagstrom 

Lecturer, Biology
Associate Health Professions Advisor

Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Cell and Molecular Biology, Genetics
Email: khagstro@holycross.edu
Office: Swords 205  Phone: 508-793-3415

 

 

 

 

Alexis S. Hill 

hill

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Fields: Neurobiology
Email: ahill@holycross.edu
Office: Swords 233  Phone: (508) 793-3543
Additional Information»

 

 

Mary Lou Lombardi-Butler

Lombardi-Bulter biology professor

Laboratory Instructor/Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Fields: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Emailmlombard@holycross.edu
Office: O'Neil 206 Phone: (508) 793-3916

 

 

 

Justin S. McAlister  

McAlister

Associate Professor
Director, Environmental Studies

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fields: Marine and Organismal Biology, Oceanography
Email: jmcalist@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 232 Phone: (508) 793-3417
Additional Information »

 

 

Sara Gran Mitchell 

mitchell biology professor

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington
Fields: Geosciences, geomorphology
Email: smitchel@holycross.edu 
Office: Swords 234 Phone: (508) 793-3420
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Michelle A. Mondoux 

mondoux

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Fields: Cellular Molecular Biology
Email: mmondoux@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 337 Phone: (508) 793-3360
Additional Information »

 

 

Megan Moran 

facultysheild

Research Associate

B.A. College of the Holy Cross
Email: mgmora21@g.holycross.edu
Office:  O'Neil 342
Phone: 508-793-3918

 

 

 

Prajal H. Patel

patel

Research Associate
Ph.D. Baylor College of Medicine
Email:ppatel@holycross.edu  
Office: O'Neil 105 Phone: 508-793-2553
Additional Information»

 

 

 

Julia A. Paxson 

paxson

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Yale University, D.V.M. Tufts University Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Fields: Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Email: jpaxson@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 335 Phone: (508) 793-3418
Additional Information »

 

 

Jodi Rymer 

rymer professor biology

Director of Biology Laboratories/Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Fields: Cell Biology, Physiology
Email: jrymer@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 325 Phone: (508) 793-3711
Additional Information »

 

 

Ann M. Sheehy 

sheehy

Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Fields: Immunology and Virology
Email: asheehy@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 235 Phone: (508) 793-2255
Additional Information »

 

 

 

William V. Sobczak 

sobczak

Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
Fields: Aquatic and Ecosystem Ecology
Email: wsobczak@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 221 Phone: (508) 793-3752
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Madeline Vargas 

vargas

Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Fields: Microbiology
Email: mvargas@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 333 Phone: (508) 793-3036
Additional Information »

 

 

 

Kelly Wolfe-Bellin 

wolfe-bellin

Director of Biology Laboratories/Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., Iowa State University
Fields: Ecology, Botany, and Environmental Science
Email: kwolfe@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 326 Phone: (508) 793-3781
Additional Information »

 

Visiting Faculty

Elizabeth Burmester

facultysheild

Visiting Assistant Professor Biology
Ph.D., Boston University
Fields: Conservation; marine ecology; restoration; organismal resilience; symbiosis
Email: eburmest@holycross.edu
Office: O'Neil 125B  Phone: 508-793-3602

 

 

Noah Hammond 

facultysheild

Visiting Assistant Professor Biology
Ph.D., Brown University
Fields: Geosciences, planetary sciences
Emailnhammond@holycross.edu
Office:  O'Neil 316     Phone: 508-793-3659

 

 

Julia Khodor 

facultysheild

Visiting Assistant Professor Biology
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Science education, biological computing, and molecular biology
Emailjkhodor@holycross.edu
Office:  O'Neil 108 Phone: 508-793-3544 

 

 

Kalpana Kumar 

facultysheild

Visiting Lecturer Biology
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science
Fields: Biochemistry; molecular biology
Emailkkumar@holycross.edu
Office:  O'Neil 125A       Phone: 508-793-2212

 

 

Staff

Linda Walsh

walsh

Office Coordinator
Email: lwalsh@holycross.edu 
Office: O'Neil 115 Phone: (508) 793-2656

 

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

 

Robert I. Bertin 

robert bertin biology department

Distinguished Professor of Science Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Illinois
Fields: Ecology, Evolutionary Biology of Higher Plants
Email: rbertin@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

 

George Hoffmann 

hoffmann

Distinguished Professor of Science Emeritus
Ph.D., Univ. of Tennessee
Fields: Genetics, Toxicology, Botany
Email: ghoffmann@holycross.edu 
 

ledbetter professor biology

Mary Lee Ledbetter 

Professor, Emerita
NSF Distinguished Teaching Scholar award in 2003
Elected, Fellow of the American Society for Cell Biology in 2018
Ph.D., Rockefeller University
Fields: Cell Biology 
Email: mledbett@holycross.edu 
Phone: (508) 363-2773
Additional Information »

 

Kornath Madhavan

madhavan

Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D., Annamalai University
Fields: Developmental Biology, Histology, Reproductive Biology, and Entomology
Email: kmadhava@holycross.edu 
Additional Information »

 

Ken Prestwich 

prestwich

Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Florida
Fields: Ecological Physiology, Animal Behavior, and Conservation Biology
Email: kprestwi@holycross.edu 
Professional Website»
Google Scholar site»