Holy Cross Home Skip the Navigation
Search | Site Index | Directions | Web Services | Calendar
 About HC    |   Admissions   |   Academics   |   Administration   |   Alumni & Friends   |   Athletics   |   Library
Holy Cross Magazine
  Book Notes
  Class Notes
  In Memoriam
  Road Signs
  Search the Magazine
  All Issues
  About the Magazine





































  Alumni / Advancement    
    Nominees for GAA Board of Directors Announced

By Margaret LeRoux

The General Alumni Association has announced the names of those alumni nominated to serve as officers and members of its Board of Directors.

Patrick L. McCarthy ’63 has been re-appointed executive secretary. Michael H. Shanahan ’78 has been re-appointed treasurer. GAA bylaws do not require yearly nomination to this office.

The nominations for the board were selected in accordance with the GAA bylaws, which allow for no more than 20 alumni to be chosen annually for three-year terms, at least 10 of them as at-large members, and 10 of them drawn one each from the immediate graduating class and from each third class preceding the graduating class.

Although this slate of candidates represents the choices of the GAA nominating committee, it should be noted that any member of the GAA may be nominated in accordance with Article VII of the bylaws, as follows: “Any member of the Alumni Association may be nominated for director by a petition containing the signatures of 20 alumni with the executive secretary no later than April 1.”

Any member of the GAA who would like to be so nominated should submit a petition to Patrick L. McCarthy by April 1. If any petition should be received, a ballot will appear in the next issue of Holy Cross Magazine so that alumni can vote for the candidate(s) nominated by petition. The names of newly elected officers and directors will be announced at the GAA’s annual banquet during Reunion Weekend. All alumni are invited to attend.


Martha M. McGuane ’77 is an English teacher at Malden (Mass.) Catholic High School. She received her master’s degree in public communications from Fordham University in 1983. A past president of the Holy Cross Club of Merimack Valley; she has been a mentor for the GAA’s Bishop Healy Committee; she also conducts senior interviews for the Admissions Office, works at college fairs and serves on the GAA’s book prize committee.


Richard C. Browne ’60 is a partner with the law firm of Winston & Strawn in Washington, D.C. He has served twice as president of the Holy Cross Club of Greater Washington, D.C., and has worked in the Alumni Admissions program and the Career Counseling program. A member of the President’s Council since 1984, he is a GAA director and a member of the GAA executive committee. Dick and his wife, Pat, reside in Rockville, Md. They are the parents of Richard, Catherine, Paulette ’88, Maureen ’89 and Colleen.

Immediate Past President

William “Bud” McManus ’58, who has served as a vice president of the GAA, received the In Hoc Signo Award in 1998. As a member of the Holy Cross Club of Greater Worcester, he has served as president, vice president, treasurer and secretary. He was named the Club’s Crusader of the Year in 1989. Retired from IBM, he formed a real estate company, McManus Associates. Bud and his wife, Sharon, reside in Holden, Mass. They are the parents of Beth, Marcy ’87, and Mark.

Vice Presidents

David A. Doern ’62 retired in 1998 as senior vice president of Insignia/Rostenberg-Doern. He resides in Little Compton, R.I., with his wife, Maureen.
Richard Onofrey Jr. ’87 is vice president of sales at Chase, Clarke and Stewart. He lives in Westfield, Mass., with his wife, Mary Jo.
Marcy M. Vandale ’87, who lives in Holden, Mass., with her husband, Richard, will be serving her fourth year as vice president of the GAA.

2001-2004 Directors

(Designated Classes)
Ryan J. Hayward ’01
Brenda L. Ramos ’98
James A. Dyer ’95
Colleen F. Amann ’92
Randall J. Pedro ’89
Charles T. Coursey ’86
Thomas J. Colbert ’83
Timothy J. O’Malley ’80
Brian A. Cashman ’77
Edward A. Goodwin ’74

2001-2004 Directors (At Large)

Paul J. Ballantine ’74
Edward M. Burgess ’78
Daniel A. Grabauskas ’85
Patricia G. Haylon ’83
Elizabeth P. Kozlowski ’01
David T. McGoldrick ’54
Harry J. Mulry Jr. ’67
Paula M. Murphy ’76
Mark W. Powers ’85
Mark T. Roman ’92

The 2001-2004 Executive Committee will be comprised of:

Edward M. Burgess ’78
Gregory H. Cahill ’81
Stephen J. O’Connor ’73




   College of the Holy Cross   |   1 College Street, Worcester, MA 01610   |   (508) 793 2011   |   Copyright 2004   |                  email   |   webmaster@holycross.edu