Holy Cross Home Skip the Navigation
Search | Site Index | Directions | Web Services | Calendar
 About HC    |   Admissions   |   Academics   |   Administration   |   Alumni & Friends   |   Athletics   |   Library
Holy Cross Magazine
  Book Notes
  Class Notes
  In Memoriam
  Road Signs
  Search the Magazine
  All Issues
  About the Magazine

















  News from the Hill    

Sanctae Crucis Awards 2000 presented

The third annual Sanctae Crucis Awards, the highest non-degree recognition bestowed by the College on an alumnus or alumna, were presented at the Board of Trustees’ dinner on May 5. Awards are given in three distinct categories—Distinguished Professional Achievement, Outstanding Community Service and Outstanding Young Alumnus/Alumna.

This year’s recipients are: Distinguished Professional Achievement category, Richard F. Kempczinski, M.D., ’62; Paul A. LaCamera ’64; and Theodore V. Wells Jr. ’72. Outstanding Community Service category, William M. Murphy ’73. The Outstanding Young Alumnus/Alumna award was presented to the husband-and-wife team of James J. Collins Jr. ’87 and Mary McNaughton Collins, M.D., ’87.

Richard F. Kempczinski, M.D., ’62, is a widely recognized vascular surgeon who, five years ago, suffered a tragic accident that left him paralyzed. He has continued his scholarly contributions to the field and is the Web master for the Vascular Society.

Paul A. LaCamera ’64 is the president and general manager of WCVB-TV Channel 5 in Boston. He was recently recognized by the Anti-Defamation League with the Torch of Liberty Award for his inspired leadership, commitment to democratic ideals and his many notable contributions to the Boston community.

Theodore V. Wells Jr. ’72 is the co-chair of the litigation department at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison in New York. The National Law Journal has repeatedly selected him as one of the 100 most influential lawyers in America.

William M. Murphy ’73 is the co-founder and director of Mary House in Washington, D.C. He and his wife have committed their lives to serving as advocates for the less fortunate. They operate 10 buildings that provide housing and other services for 30 families.

James J. Collins Jr. ’87 was recognized this year as one of the 100 most remarkable innovators (under age 35) in science, technology and the arts, by Technology Review, MIT’s Magazine of Innovation. His research and applications of stochastic resonance are opening the way to sensory prosthetics for touch-impaired diabetics, stroke patients and the elderly.

Mary McNaughton Collins ’87 is a physician at Massachusetts General Hospital, where she specializes in prostate diseases. She is also an instructor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. Her research interests are in the areas of prostate diseases and technology assessment for minimally invasive therapies.

Chair of the College’s board of trustees, Henry E. “Jack” Lentz ’67, also honored Frank Vellaccio, for his two years of service as acting president.


Sanctae Crucis Awards 2000 presented

Front row (Left to right): Frank Vellaccio, James J. Collins Jr. ’87, Mary McNaughton Collins, M.D., ’87, Catherine Kempczinski, Christopher Kempczinski. Back row: Theodore V. Wells Jr. ’72, Paul A. LaCamera ’64, William M. Murphy ’73

   College of the Holy Cross   |   1 College Street, Worcester, MA 01610   |   (508) 793 2011   |   Copyright 2004   |                  email   |   webmaster@holycross.edu