Faculty of Note

Holy Cross science faculty are nationally renowned for their cutting-edge research and innovative approaches to teaching. Recent notable faculty achievements include:

Robert Bellin (biology)



Kenneth Mills (chemistry)

Received $250,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to establish a biochemistry core faculty. Mills also received the college’s first CAREER grant from the National Science Foundation.



Mary Lee S. Ledbetter (biology)

Named Distinguished Teaching Scholar by the National Science Foundation, one of only five in the nation.



Robert Garvey (physics)

Named “United States Professor of the Year” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.



Janine Shertzer (physics)

Elected fellow in the American Physical Society, for her “groundbreaking introduction of novel finite-element techniques in calculation of bound state and scattering properties of atomic and molecular systems.”

Amy Wolfson (psychology)

Awarded $1.07 million grant from the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development — the largest in the College’s history — for research into children’s sleep cycles and effects on learning.