The Legislative Branch

The Senate

The Senate is composed of 21 elected voting representatives, with three Class-Wide Senators per class and nine At-Large Senators from any class. The Senate is presided over by the Speaker of the Senate, supported by the Parliamentarian and Legislative Secretary. The six standing committees of the Senate are Academic Affairs, Internal Affairs, Public Affairs, Recognized Student Organizations, Senate Budget, and Student Outreach.  

The Senate represents and advocates for student interests. They may form ad-hoc committees to formally evaluate and discuss issues of student interest, propose non-binding referenda, draft and execute Position Statements and Official Endorsements, review and amend the Constitution of the SGA, passing and repealing bylaws, rules, and legislation, confirming or rejecting nominees to specific offices of the SGA, hearing deferred cases of the Judicial Council, granting or rescinding recognition of student organizations affiliated with the SGA, and reviewing and approving the SGA budget. Senators are responsible for serving the best interest of their constituencies by introducing legislation, voting, and serving on committees. 

The Senate also has the Clerkship Program which provides an alternative to running for a seat in the Senate. The Clerkship Program helps prepare clerks for expanded roles within the Senate and the Student Government as a whole.

Senate Committees

Academic Affairs: The purpose of this committee is to promote, and when necessary, document and represent feedback of the College’s academic programs, activities, and services. The committee seeks to increase the accountability of academic administration to the student body and promote the academic wellbeing of all students. The committee further strives to foster enhanced dialogue and communication with, and between, a variety of academic offices on campus, including but not limited to the following: The Dean’s Office, Registrar’s Office, Academic Resources and Learning Services, Donelan Office of Community-Based Learning, the J.D. Power Center, Libraries, and Montserrat.

Internal Affairs: This committee is designed to plan events within the Senate. These events could include social events, professional development opportunities, workshops, or community engagement opportunities. 

Public Affairs: By publicizing the weekly Senate meetings and various activities or legislative action of the Senate through electronic and/or print media, Public Affairs helps bring transparency between the Senate and the student body. The committee also serves as a liaison to the Public Affairs Director(s) on Cabinet. Under the Public Affairs Committee, Foreign Affairs Correspondents help serve as a liaison between the Student Government and students studying abroad. 

Recognized Student Organizations: The purpose of this committee is to hear all student requests to form a Recognized Student Organization, annually Re-recognize all Recognized Student Organizations, and serve as a liaison for each Recognized Student Organization.

Senate Budget: The purpose of this committee is to hear all funding requests made by Fixed Budget recognized student organizations, recommend an appropriation of the SBC allocation to Senate for approval, and act as a liaison for each recognized student organization regarding budget concerns. This committee works closely with the Treasurer to set the SGA budget for all RSOs for the next term.

Student Outreach: The purpose of this committee is to cover the evaluation, assessment, and improvement of every aspect of student life that is not academically related. The committee further strives to adequately represent the interests and needs of all students including but not limited to: housing, dining, campus events, school spirit, and safety. The committee will further be responsible for coordinating all programming events sponsored by the Senate and drafting and issuing referendums on campus. 

Stay Up To Date with the SGA Senate by following us on our Social Media! 

Instagram @HCSenate





Holy Cross SGA Senate