You are here


Accreditation is an important process of self-governance for institutions of higher education. The periodic review and assessment that accreditation entails not only provide an assurance of quality to the public, but also aids institutions in their own planning. In addition, only accredited schools are eligible for certain federal grants, including Pell grants for students.

NEASC, founded in 1885, is one of six regional accrediting associations in the United States. Currently NEASC accredits over 2,000 educational institutions, from pre-K to doctoral level, including 240 colleges and universities. The NEASC mission calls for the development and maintenance of high standards for all levels of education. Members of the NEASC board and staff, as well as members of visiting accrediting teams are drawn primarily from faculty and staff of member institutions.

On Aug. 1, 2018, the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) became the federally recognized regional accreditor for the six New England states. NECHE has assumed the business functions of the Commission previously managed by NEASC. The NEASC Standards for Accreditation remain unchanged.

The NECHE standards are organized into nine broad categories:

External Resources

Accreditation Archive

2010 Accreditation Notification

In the fall of 2010, Holy Cross received continuation of its accreditation for 10 years.

2010 Final Report

A copy of the final report by the visiting team, as well as the reply by Rev. Michael C. McFarland, S.J., then-president of the College, are available.

2015 5-Year Interim Report

In 2015, a five-year interim report was submitted to the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education.

Following the submission of the interim report, the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education delivered a report decision letter.