Holy Cross Home Skip the Navigation
Search | Site Index | Directions | Web Services | Calendar
 About HC    |   Admissions   |   Academics   |   Administration   |   Alumni & Friends   |   Athletics   |   Library
Holy Cross Magazine
 Book Notes
  Class Notes
  In Memoriam
  Road Signs
  Search the Magazine
  All Issues
  About the Magazine
  News from the Hill    

Theatre department receives Moss Hart Award

The New England Theatre Conference (NETC) presented the Holy Cross theatre department with its Moss Hart Award for best college play—for its 2006 production of Good, by C.P. Taylor. Edward Isser, associate professor and chair of the theatre department, received a plaque commemorating the award at the NETC’s annual conference held in November. 

The annual Moss Hart Award, which is given in memory of Moss Hart, the American playwright and director, recognizes outstanding theatrical productions throughout New England, in the areas of human courage and dignity, strong literary and artistic merit, and productions that are fresh, imaginative and creative. According to the NETC Web site, the award “seeks to encourage artistic growth and the highest standards of excellence in theatre.”

“This is a great external recognition of what we’ve long known: that our students are among the hardest working and most talented in New England,” says Isser.
C.P. Taylor’s harrowing musical, Good—about one man’s gradual acceptance of Nazism in 1930s Germany—was presented in November 2006 on the Fenwick Theatre stage. The production was directed by Isser, with music direction by Eric Culver, lecturer in the music department. Sets were designed by Robert Mack, technical director in the theatre department; lighting was by William J. Rynders, former associate professor of theatre; and costumes were by Kurt S. Hultgren, costume designer in the theatre department. 

“This is also a tribute to our fantastic design staff—especially Bill Rynders who did such an incredible job lighting such a complicated production,” says Isser. “Bill recently retired, and it is fitting that he should be an integral part of an award-winning show during his last year on the faculty.”

The cast featured Patrick Gavin ’07, Thomas Morin ’07, Vasilios Asimakos ’09, James D’Amico ’10, John Grassey ’10, Cooper Gardner ’09, Kristen Fleming ’08, Emily Rast ’09, Savanah Shaughnessy ’09 and Yelena Sayko ’10. The orchestra included Eric Culver, Emma Reilly ’10 and Michael Ferraguto ’09.


Faculty The actors from left to right: Vasilios Asimakos,
Patrick Gavin, James D'Amico and John Grassey

   College of the Holy Cross   |   1 College Street, Worcester, MA 01610   |   (508) 793 2011   |   Copyright 2005   |                  email   |   webmaster@holycross.edu