You are here

Seelos Film Series

Seelos Theatre screens second-run films every week when school is in session. The movies are free and open to the public on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Located in Kimball Hall, the state-of-the-art Francis Xavier Seelos Theatre was renovated in 2008 and seats 360. Most of the films are shown on Blu-ray. For directions to campus and walking directions to Seelos Theatre, please visit our directions page. For more information, please call the Seelos Box Office at 508-793-2455. 


Fall 2017

“Hacksaw Ridge”
Wednesday, Aug. 30: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. WWII American Army Medic Desmond T. Doss, who served during the Battle of Okinawa, refuses to kill people, and becomes the first man in American history to receive the Medal of Honor without firing a shot.

“Alien: Covenant”
Friday, Sept. 1 and Saturday, Sept. 2: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated R. The crew of a colony ship, bound for a remote planet, discover an uncharted paradise with a threat beyond their imagination, and must attempt a harrowing escape.

“Hidden Figures”
Wednesday, Sept. 6: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG. The story of a team of female African-American mathematicians who served a vital role in NASA during the early years of the U.S. space program.

“Logan”
Friday, Sept. 8 and Saturday, Sept. 9: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated R. In the near future, a weary Logan cares for an ailing Professor X, somewhere on the Mexican border. However, Logan's attempts to hide from the world, and his legacy, are upended when a young mutant arrives, pursued by dark forces.

“The Founder”
Wednesday, Sept. 13: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG-13. The story of Ray Kroc, a salesman who turned two brothers' innovative fast food eatery, McDonald's, into the biggest restaurant business in the world with a combination of ambition, persistence and ruthlessness.

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”
Friday, Sept. 15 and Saturday, Sept. 16: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. The Rebel Alliance makes a risky move to steal the plans for the Death Star, setting up the epic saga to follow.

“20th Century Women”
Wednesday, Sept. 20: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. The story of a teenage boy, his mother, and two other women who help raise him among the love and freedom of Southern California of 1979.

“A Monster Calls”
Friday, Sept. 22 and Saturday, Sept. 23: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. A boy seeks the help of a tree monster to cope with his single mother's terminal illness.

“Things to Come”
Wednesday, Sept. 27: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG-13. A philosophy teacher soldiers through the death of her mother, getting fired from her job, and dealing with a husband who is cheating on her.

“Kong: Skull Island”
Friday, Sept. 29 and Saturday, Sept. 30: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. A team of scientists explore an uncharted island in the Pacific, venturing into the domain of the mighty Kong, and must fight to escape a primal Eden.

“Paterson”
Wednesday, Oct. 4: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. A quiet observation of the triumphs and defeats of daily life, along with the poetry evident in its smallest details.

“Beatriz at Dinner”
Wednesday, Oct. 18: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. A holistic medicine practitioner attends a wealthy client's dinner party after her car breaks down.

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2”
Friday, Oct. 20: Showing at 7 p.m. (No Saturday showing.)
Rated PG-13. The Guardians must fight to keep their newfound family together as they unravel the mystery of Peter Quill's true parentage.

“Wonder Woman”
Wednesday, Oct. 25: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG-13. Before she was Wonder Woman, she was Diana, princess of the Amazons, trained warrior. When a pilot crashes and tells of conflict in the outside world, she leaves home to fight a war, discovering her full powers and true destiny.

“The Beguiled”
Wednesday, Nov. 1: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. The unexpected arrival of a wounded Union soldier at a girls' school in Virginia during the American Civil War leads to jealousy and betrayal.

“Beauty and the Beast”
Friday, Nov. 3 and Saturday, Nov. 4: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG. An adaptation of the fairy tale about a monstrous-looking prince and a young woman who fall in love.

“My Cousin Rachel”
Wednesday, Nov. 8: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG-13. A young Englishman plots revenge against his late cousin's mysterious, beautiful wife, believing her responsible for his death. But his feelings become complicated as he finds himself falling under the beguiling spell of her charms.

“Megan Leavey”
Friday, Nov. 10 and Saturday, Nov. 11: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. Based on the true life story of a young Marine corporal whose unique discipline and bond with her military combat dog saved many lives during their deployment in Iraq.

“Wind River”
Wednesday, Nov. 15: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. An FBI agent teams with a town's veteran game tracker to investigate a murder that occurred on a Native American reservation.

“Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales”
Friday, Nov. 17 and Saturday, Nov. 18: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. Captain Jack Sparrow searches for the trident of Poseidon while being pursued by an undead sea captain and his crew.

“A Ghost Story”
Wednesday, Nov. 29: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated R. In this singular exploration of legacy, love, loss, and the enormity of existence, a recently deceased, white-sheeted ghost returns to his suburban home to try to reconnect with his bereft wife.

“Spider-Man: Homecoming”
Friday, Dec. 1 and Saturday, Dec. 2: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated PG-13. Peter Parker, with the help of his mentor Tony Stark, tries to balance his life as an ordinary high school student in New York City while fighting crime as his superhero alter ego Spider-Man when a new threat emerges.

“Dunkirk”
Wednesday, Dec. 6: Showings at 3 and 8 p.m.
Rated PG-13. Allied soldiers from Belgium, the British Empire and France are surrounded by the German army and evacuated during a fierce battle in World War II.

“Baby Driver”
Friday, Dec. 8 and Saturday, Dec. 9: Showings at 7 p.m.
Rated R. After being coerced into working for a crime boss, a young getaway driver finds himself taking part in a heist doomed to fail. 

All synopses courtesy of IMDB.com.