You are here

Instrumental and Vocal Lessons

For students wishing to more deeply explore specialized interests, our faculty members offer private lessons, small group tutorials, performance forums, and masterclasses. Students may study voice and virtually every instrument with the artists-in-residence and other performance teachers. 

Our performance faculty members are active, internationally recognized performers, carefully selected by the department. Music majors are entitled to free lessons. Many non-majors take lessons for a nominal fee. Eleven (11) 60-minute lessons are $650 per semester; eleven (11) 30-minute lessons are $325 per semester. The fee for the semester is payable after the second lesson. If for any reason the student is not satisfied after two lessons, he/she must immediately inform the music department administrative assistant. Upon doing so, the lessons may be discontinued.

Music majors may take lessons for credit through the department’s Performance Program. Students who wish to take lessons for credit must already play or sing at an intermediate or advanced level, complete at least one semester of lessons with a Holy Cross teacher, and consult with the chair of the department. Additional information on lessons and the Performance Program is available from Alice Resker, music department administrative assistant, aresker@holycross.edu, 508-793-2296.

Below is a list of our performance faculty and their contact information. Please contact the teacher you plan to study early in the semester and give him/her your schedule. If your schedule is still not complete, call or email the instructor with the schedule you presently have and explain your situation.


Performance Faculty

Instrument

Faculty Member

Phone number

Email

Bassoon

Stephanie Busby

978-957-5543

stephaniebusby@gmail.com

Cello

Jan Muller-Szeraws

617-738-0056

jmuller@holycross.edu

Clarinet

 

 

 

Guitar

Robert Sullivan

978-562-2714

Robert.sullivan9@verizon.net

Guitar

Jeffrey Nevaras

508-588-9499 (h)
508-572-8052 (c)

jnevaras@holycross.edu

Piano

Adam Golka

 

agolka@holycross.edu

Piano

Jonathan Yasuda

 

jyasuda@holycross.edu

Oboe

Joe Halko

508 335-0924

joeoboe.halko@gmail.com

Trombone

Douglas Weeks

508-878-1689

dweeks@wpi.edu

Trumpet

Bruce Hopkins

401-568-2302

bhopkins@holycross.edu

Violin/Viola

Peter Sulski

508-981-8880

psulski@holycross.edu

Violin

Saul Bitran

 

sbitran@holycross.edu

Voice

Marsha Vleck

978-443-4522 (h), 508-341-4522 (c)

mrvleck@aol.com

Voice

Bill Cotten

617-739-0349 (h) 617-970-3309 (c)

wcotten@holycross.edu

Percussion/Drums

Jonathan Hess

 

jhess@holycross.edu